Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:17 pm on 03.01.03

Today is a fine day. A fine day indeed. For the past several hours we�ve been having flurries of huge snowflake bunches. The kind that when they land on your windshield, the individual flakes separate a little and you�re only able to make them out a little bit.

By the time Luke got home last night, I was feeling better. I really did nothing all evening save for talk to Kate about various and sundry life things, but that was enough. She made me laugh griping about her roommate and the illegal hamsters. The concept of illegal hamsters is simply hilarious to me and I haven�t the slightest clue why. I guess it may be due to the fact that, for the past several years, hamsters tend to come up in conversation when they�re least expected. I remember when I was seeing J and we ended up talking about disgruntled hamsters one night. That�s what started it.

It�s gotten to the point where I am threatening Luke on a weekly basis with getting him a hamster if he keeps talking about them. Of course, as cute as hamsters are, I really don�t want one. I had my childhood stint with rodents and none of them ended well. Almond the hamster died under mysterious circumstances brought about by my brother when I was in fifth grade. I didn�t want to go to school that day, but my mother made me, so I wore black in order to mourn properly. The guinea pigs Barney and Clyde were frightened to death by some otherwise very friendly dogs, save for the one who, in the time between death and burial, raided the cage and tore one of them in half. It was then my job to bury them, gagging every three feet and trying to balance them on the shovel. Of course, it also doesn�t help that when Barry the Dwarf Hamster died of old age awhile back I was the one to go visit him at M&G�s only to find him dead.

Tomorrow, Luke�s grandparents really are paying a visit to M&G. We�re apparently expected there before noon so that we can accompany them when they go out to eat. To be honest, despite the fact that it�s her birthday, I�m not exuberant about seeing M. I�m still a little chafed by last week�s insult. Though, I�m not going for the M factor. I�m going so that we can see Grandma and Papa for the first time since Thanksgiving. Had we not had so many car problems over the past several months, we�d have been able to go up and visit. We probably should go up before too long so that we can see Kimmy�s rabbit and Great-Grandma.

Apparently, I will be insured shortly. The only catch is that we have to obtain a signed affidavit of Domestic Partnership, which will then be forwarded to the main office for filing and inspection. I don�t know the first thing about obtaining such a document, but I�ve emailed a Canadian lawyer friend of mine who may be able to give me some information. If not, we�ll just ask G�s friend W to help us out. He�s in corporate law, but he can certainly draft an affidavit for us, or whatever needs doing. As soon as we have our insurance cards in hand, I plan on making an appointment with a dentist and scampering off to get my teeth cleaned for the first time in nearly three years. Some fear the dentist, but not I, I love it. This, of course, is due to the fact that I have never suffered any trauma at the hand of a dentist. Doctors are a different barrel of monkeys. My blood pressure shoots up, I get nervous, my veins disappear, and my composure goes all to hell.

Had an enjoyable wrestling session while Luke was trying to get dressed. It�s fun trying to get him to stay naked and tossing one another around the bedroom. Had we had more time, this would have turned into wrestling of a different categorization, but he had to be to work, so there was none of that.

diarist.net