Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 11:49 am on 03.05.03

Oh boy, did I ever have a wretched weekend. As luck would have it, severe illness struck me at about nine on Saturday night, leaving me unable to go to M�s birthday shindig and precluding me from having any kind of fun whatsoever. It�s none too easy to enjoy oneself when you have to run to the bathroom a few times per hour and double over with excruciating stomach cramps at twice that rate. The stomach woes ended roughly twenty-six hours later and then began the intense sinus headache and nose dripping.

We called the nurse hotline in Waukesha and asked what we could do about the stomach issue at home, so they gave me some strict dietary guidelines (no food for eight hours after the ick stops, no fresh fruit or veggies, no dairy for two days, etc.) saying that I should get to a doctor as soon as humanly possible because of the severity of the cramping and the content of what little was coming out of me at that point. Needless to say, if I haven�t got the money to pay for most small things, then I haven�t the cash to go to the doctor, so I stayed home and Luke nursed me, letting me nap and making sure I got plenty to drink so as to combat dehydration. Luckily, I improved.

Monday we grocery shopped and got soup for me and a sandwich for him, then returned immediately home since I had to drive and the DayQuil, the sole resident of my stomach at the time, was making me a little disoriented. So, he took care of putting the groceries away, made me put on pajamas, brought me my soup, and ordered me to stay on the couch, but I felt horrible about ruining his two days off. Andy happened to come over that night as well. He was expecting the normal night out with us despite already having been told I was really sick, incapable of eating much of anything, and unwilling to go out. He arrived at nearly eight o�clock, sat around with us until ten, every half hour harassing me about what I wanted to eat and where I wanted to go, before realizing how late it was and leaving in something of a huff about the situation. With his new schedule he doesn�t realize that Luke works at seven a.m. and that we both need to go to bed at a relatively decent hour.

Luke surprised me when I went to pick him up from work yesterday. He had gone out during his lunch hour and purchased me the first season of The Osbournes on DVD. I was so excited that we watched the entire thing as soon as we got home. It was Luke�s first time seeing an episode and he loved it. I�m glad that we have such similar senses of humor; otherwise it would have been like making him listen to a Tori Amos CD with me. The concept of Kelly�s �wobblers� is the best ever. Luke�s cousin J is very similar in her crankiness and I just crack up every time she goes off.

I managed to eat yesterday and it went over okay. I did have to visit the bathroom more than I thought I would (twice), but it was fine. I also gave Luke the flashing yellow light to try for lovin�, since it had been four days and my body really needed to feel something good. It went beautifully. He was patient, made sure I was okay every few minutes, and so very gentle. I had to have been the happiest girl on the planet afterwards. I curled up against him and simply gushed about how special he is to me and how much I love him.

Today I have a hectic schedule of lying on the couch, relaxing with the cat, watching The Osbournes commentaries, and eating toast before going to get Luke. I would work out, but it�s a bad idea considering that I am still sort of sick and know that I haven�t yet fully recovered form all the fluid loss of the other day.

diarist.net