Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Vertical Horizon's Running on Ice||||

@ 3:54 pm on 11.07.03

It will never cease to amaze me how things in life can go from pretty decent to just plain wretched. A mere two days ago, I was pretty much floating and now I can�t seem to stop crying. No, I am not going through the beginnings of some major depressive episode. Instead, I have been dealt two huge pieces of very terrible news in less than 24 hours.

Firstly, it appears (okay not so much appears as is) that our rent check for last month bounced and we�ve been issued a 5 day to pay up or get out by Tuesday. We don�t have the money they want and neither do either of our families, so moving it will probably be. The are good things about this moving thing, like being able to pay off our bills and save up before heading for the East coast in a few months and the fact that we�ll be chipping in around M&G�s plus saving them a chunk of cash in dog walker fees per month. A bad thing is that we�ve stayed there before and it put a strain on Luke�s and my relationship, but that can be worked around. This isn�t what I�m most saddened by, though, as I�m really sick and tired of living in a place run by some suited bigwig in Chicago who only cares that the cash comes in, each tenant a dollar sign with no heart or brain.

What I am upset about more than anything is that when I called my dad to beg for cash, he described to me a scene that I can�t stop picturing. He�s been putting off telling me for I don�t know how long because he couldn�t bear to retell it, nor could he bring himself to break my heart. My darling sweet Nim Chow has died and right before my poor dad�s eyes at that. As he was telling me, he broke down crying, saying that he can�t get it out of his head. He said he was down in the basement when he heard a massive crash upstairs and that when he rushed up, he found Nim Chow with his head resting on the wicker kitty bed they have for the three of them. My poor, gorgeous, funny eyes little kitty, who was brought to me as a surprise 4 years ago had broken his neck by falling and been knocked unconscious. I�m having a nearly impossible time typing this because I can�t see the keyboard for the tears. Daddy told me they buried him the next day at my grandparents� house next to Jack the Best Dog in the World and that he hopes that the little guy hasn�t finished his nine and is somewhere making another family happy right now. I just feel so badly for my dad. He said he�s never cried that much over a person, let alone a cat and that this is one of the most traumatic things to ever happen to him. My dad is the guy who can do and fix anything. To not be able to fix this breaks his heart.

So, I�m home alone until midnight, left to mourn and cry alone.

diarist.net