Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Dar Williams' The Honesty Room||Thinking about nada||# of days to 23: 31

@ 12:22 pm on 11.06.03

My darling, wonderful boyfriend, who only wants the very best for me, has thrown another wrench into my Zen-like spokes. Yesterday at work, he asked everyone if they knit. If they replied in the affirmative, he asked them to write down their names and emails addresses so that I will now be responsible for emailing all of them and organizing a knitting circle comprised of people whom I have never before met. This would not be a problem had I met at least a few of them previously, but I am cripplingly shy when faced with a group of people I don�t know. Now I have some pressure to email them and I don�t even know what the hell I�m supposed to say. Luke says he�ll go with me until I get comfortable, but once I get comfortable (well, as comfortable as one can get in a scant two months) I will expect him to be there with me every time. I really do appreciate his efforts, but I�m just a little angsty now. I have to look on the bright side, though. This means that until I get to go home and consult my gram on things I am confused about, I will have a group of ladies to complain to.

As it stands right now, though, my solitary knitting is coming along quite nicely and Luke managed to learn binding off all by himself last night. The thing I don�t get about his method is that if he makes even the tiniest mistake, he unravels the whole thing and starts over. I keep telling him that he can just pick up the stitches that fall off, but he wants nothing to do with it. I really hope that he continues to learn. I think that a boy knitting is unbelievably hot.

Like I said yesterday, he didn�t get the time he requested off, so he works until 7:30 on our anniversary, making it so that we have to do something the night before instead. This bums me out, as last year all we did was order in pizza and this is three years, people! Three years is a long time, considering that we were a mere 19 when we started dating. We have both grown so much since that time and weathered a lot of very nasty things, but here we are, still in love with no signs of stopping. We went out for a nice dinner on our first anniversary and saw the most adorable very old couple celebrating their anniversary as well. We didn�t tell the server that it was out anniversary, but they got free cake and shared it. I remember the pair of us looking on and hoping that we can be those two when we�re that old. I still want to be the little old lady in the green dress eating a single slice of complimentary cake with my old Luke in a tiny suit.

diarist.net