Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Sarah Mclachlan's Afterglow||Thinking about sewing||

@ 1:58 pm on 12.11.03

I went into anxiety mode not long ago, but my fears have since been assuaged. Funny how a single phone call can make you feel so much better. The source of my agita, as has been the case for the past three weeks, was my old friend menses. What with the breakthrough bleeding and now the seemingly very early halting of the blood, I had to call my friendly neighborhood (if my neighborhood were 30 miles from here) Planned Parenthood and make a query. Apparently, the breakthrough bleeding was my body saying something along the lines of �I�m here, you know; now, acknowledge me� and the early halting of blood due to the fact that I already bled for three or four days, so there isn�t a whole ton left in the reserve. Then again, watch me finish writing this, go to the bathroom, and notice that the panty-liner I installed just to be on the safe side is soaked through. That would be my luck to a tee.

I drove through the snow yesterday afternoon in anticipation of going to the Sow�s Ear with some stitch �n bitchers, but got to B&N to find that it had been called off due to the weather. It�s probably for the best, though, because I didn�t even bring my knitting. I was under the impression that the field trip was only to look around, not to knit, so I didn�t bring my stuff.

Now, with snow on the ground and a northwesterly wind, it�s fucking cold outside. The thermometer reads about 18, meaning that the wind chill must be somewhere in the single digits. I took Nigel to go for his walk and about halfway through, he stopped dead and just stood there shivering, so we trekked back, opting for the half circle instead of the whole thing. Of course, this means that the walk was almost the same length and distance as it otherwise would have been, but shit, that damned dog made me turn around and face the bitter wind. As bundled as one might be, the wind always finds a way to cut through, reddening cheeks, making the nose run, and the skin stiffen all over the body. Kitty CAM was cute, though. He followed us the whole way and would warble at me from time to time.

Ghostcat has gotten into the habit of being prickish much earlier than normal of late. It was 2:30ish last night. Being bone tired and sick of him screaming at me, I told Luke that I�d almost rather not have him than deal with the bullshit. I even said I�d take him to the Humane Society Friday, but that�s a lie. I don�t think I could bear to part with him. It�s just that when you�re that tired, problems seem to stretch to skyscraper heights and weigh down on you to the point of being fed up.

I got up this morning to find that G has finally set up those mousetraps he bought many weeks ago. One thing I don�t think he thought about was the fact that the bait should be on the trap, not just around it. So, I threw on my robe and went out into the basement proper to see something scuttle across my peripheral vision as I was walking up the stairs. When I came back down later on, there again was Mr. or Ms. Mouselet, scuttling behind the washing machine to escape my approaching footfalls. My guess is that he or she was sampling the smattering of seeds and cheese left arranged not so delicately around the traps. I will say now that I honestly hope that I am not the one to discover that one of them has been dumb enough to step on the pedal. The idea of coming across mangled animal bodies, however irritating they may be in life, is not what I call fun.

As to those who were wondering whether birthday sex ever happened, it did. Thrice. That was the last time it happened, however, since I was bleeding some on Monday, a little sickish Tuesday, and just wanting cuddles last night. I think that if the bleeding has in fact stopped, I will see to it that some sex is had tonight. I hate that we�re both being deprived of one another by this, just one of the many reasons I choose not to menstruate. Even if the bleeding hasn�t quit, we can still go for it and I will make sure that it does.

diarist.net