Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to the Joni compilation||Thinking about my chilly feet again||

@ 1:05 pm on 12.10.03

Had a mediocre birthday. Spent a good chunk of time out with Luke, had lunch, shopped a bit, shared some tiramisu. Then it went downhill. We went to see Bubba Ho-Tep with M, G, and their friend. Um, yeah�seriously a very forgettable movie. Or maybe I forgot about it because it was so awful it was traumatic. Who knows? In-laws� friend wanted to hang a little longer, so we went to dinner at this little Japanese steakhouse on State St. It was my choice and, I might be wrong here, but last I checked, one should not make rude comments about establishments 1.) When you are in them and 2.) When you are with the person who chose said establishment. The first thing out of M�s mouth when we walked in? �Oh, my God, that smells disgusting.� She continued in that vein the entire time, picking idly at her order of shumai, and talking about how she stooped to eating McD�s when they lived in Japan, how �[she] lost weight in Japan� because of the food. What the fuck?

We parted company and left to call Andy/go to the B&N sale. M&G were to meet us there at 8:30, but being perpetually late to everything, Luke had to go look for them. Apparently, they told him that they went to Rocky Rococo�s (think really shitty pizza) because they were hungry and that�s why they were tardy. So, not only did I have a miserable dining experience and a horrible movie as part of my day, I had to spend the next two hours with these people who hadn�t even gotten me a gift or a card. Suffice to say, I took off on my own for much of the allotted time, picking up the items I wanted and purchasing them at will.

All told, I made out well with the money that my parents sent me. I got a bunch of DVDs (including Buffy Season 5), some thumb-worn massagers for Luke to rub my back with, a couple of knitting books, some lovely soap, yummy perfume (free from Aveda for my burpday), and a few other things that I can�t think of right now.

My gram and grandpa gave me a kitty hat! and a check for $50, which I have yet to cash.

We had an appointment yesterday that we didn�t have to even go to. It was regarding our former landlord, but apparently the guy closed the case without telling us first and we didn�t even have to show. Nice to know, but Luke had to take 2 hours off work to go and I had to spend the entire day in Madison. Not an entirely bad thing, as I actually really enjoyed myself and got to read and knit as well as spending time with my boy. If only my period hadn�t made me sick.

I finished the body of the purse I�m making. It looks pretty cute. I bought the liner fabric and snaps for it yesterday and all I have to do now is sew up the liner, knit up a pair of handles and throw it all together.

diarist.net