Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Grandaddy - A.M. 180||thinking hey, I'm not dead!||# of days to 23: 23

@ 8:40 pm on 11.14.03

I did something this evening that should go down in the annals of stupidity. I think that I�m lucky that I�m not currently in the running for a Darwin Award right now. I was sitting here earlier conversing idly with Muppet on AIM when there was a knock on the door. I ignored it because I am generally not one to open the door to strangers. Then the individual asked at the door if anyone was home. I caved and opened the door to find a man telling me that he had an emergency and could he please use my phone. Thinking that someone was dying or something, I told him to stay in the hallway and I would bring him the phone. I grab the phone and he just waltzes in, casual as you please. This is when I learn that no one is in fact dying � he just lost his keys and can�t get into his apartment to eat the KFC Popcorn chicken stuffed under his arm.

It wasn�t until he came into my apartment that I realized my gaffe. My boyfriend wasn�t home, there was a strange man in my house, and I was left to think out what I would do were he to advance on me. I was searching the corners of my mind trying to remember what I learned so many years ago in my self-defense class. I felt beyond uncomfortable and blushed visibly, noticeable even almost an hour later when I went to bring Luke his meal.

Luckily, the man called a locksmith, I refused to give him my phone number, and I told him that he could not stay until they arrived because I would be leaving soon to do an errand. It was only good fortune that he thanked me profusely and left upon finishing his call.

Is it wrong that I automatically assume that a strange man intends to do me bodily harm? Is such thinking a product of an overprotective father or is it just good sense to immediately go into self-preservation mode? I even went so far as to ask Luke to lock me in the car when he went into McD�s in a nasty neighborhood a couple of weeks ago.

diarist.net