Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Dar Williams - After All||thinking about heavy furniture||# of days to 23: 22

@ 4:11 pm on 11.15.03

So very sick of packing and cleaning and I cannot wait until it�s all done tomorrow. I don�t know how it all gets there, but I think this is the dustiest place on earth. We didn�t really make much progress last night since Muppet came over, had me proofread something, and let made me late to get Luke with his incessant banter. Don�t get me wrong; I greatly prefer the banter of Muppet to that of Andy.

We did manage a decent score, though. When I was on my way to bring Luke his dinner last night, I noticed that someone was dumping a large futon and its frame. It was still there when I picked him up, so we grabbed it. Sadly, the frame was broken in a lot of places, but grabbing this one, which isn�t in terrible shape (just needs a cover, a good Lysoling, and some Febreze) allowed us to toss my old twin-sized one with a giant mystery stain on it. I refer to it as a mystery stain because, frankly, I have no idea, nor any interest in getting close enough to find out, what it is. All I know is that in between when we left it at M&G�s for us to sleep on and took it back here a couple of months ago, it got el staino. The cat seems to think that the new futon is just a giant sized cat bed brought home especially for him.

I made the mistake of drinking a 20 oz. Bottle of wild cherry Pepsi not long before going to bed, so I didn�t get to sleep until 3 and then woke at 9, unable to get back. I got up and farted around for a short while until Luke got up, he unable to continue sleeping because I was out of bed. I also made the mistake yesterday of not eating enough and suffering from the sleepies/can�t focus my eyes/can�t concentrate thing as a consequence. Not fun, I say.

The acoustics in this place are disturbing now that things are off the walls and furniture has been largely moved to a central area. We echo when we speak and I�m not terribly fond of it. At least I know that we only have one more day to deal with it. It definitely doesn�t feel like home anymore. This is actually the longest I�ve lived on one place since late 1998 and it�s weird to be leaving it.

We have to get up quite early (for us) and go rent a damned U-Haul in the morning, then begins all the lugging and positioning of our belongings all by ourselves. We have the possibility of help, but we�re not really counting on it since it was only mentioned in passing and we don�t want to inconvenience the kind soul in question. At least everything is going down stairs as opposed to up them. Sure, there are a total of three tiny steps to climb at M&G�s, but that won�t be anything compared to the 13 or more here. I�m just glad that we don�t live on the 1st floor and were lucky enough to get a 3rd when we moved in. A second, actually ground level in the front, would be most preferable for moving, but I�ve enjoyed not having to hear neighbors stomping around above me. The crazy lady who lived above us at the old place often sounded like she was playing hockey at all hours. It was unnerving, to say the least.

So, unless something strange happens again tonight, I should be up and running on Tuesday. Wish me luck, all.

diarist.net