Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to nothing||Thinking I'll keep the exercise thing up||# of days to 23: still 44

@ 8:46 pm on 10.24.03

Being blissed-out 2 1/2 hours post-yoga, having fed cat, boyfriend, and myself, with a long relaxing evening in front of me, I feel compelled to admit to something.

I am disturbingly drawn to the voice of the lead singer of Evanescence. I can appreciate both the gravelly and most refined of voices, those that have been belting writing their own songs since 6 and never had a lesson, to those who�ve had very rigorous operatic training, which Ms. Evanescence has had. I wouldn�t feel so guilty about liking her voice were she not singing for some crap n�metal band that peddles their �I <3 Jebus� music to an unsuspecting, over sexualized, largely secular teenage nation. These kids think that it�s just music, putting their own unrequited love objects into the pronoun spots, when it�s intentioned for them to be thinking of the Holy Spirit, lavishing their praise on Him and not that hot guy in math class with the Abercrombie jeans and the carefully mussed hair. I am offended by over religious people to begin with, am not terribly fond of religion, and think that such an application for a gorgeous voice is an abominable abuse of obviously squandered talent. So, why do I sit there and subject myself to overproduced trash, shaking my head and shaming whomever told her that she should sing for Christ?

To those who would argue with me, if anyone actually would, here�s the real deal on Evanescence, who claim they aren�t a Christian band. Evanescence played heavily on the Jebus circuit until people decided they were too metal and essentially kicked them out. They landed a song on the Daredevil soundtrack, an immediate cash cow, and now they are being piped over the airwaves on heavy rotation every time I turn the dial. She swears that they�re not about Christian, but a band for everyone, but anybody who�s done their homework knows their roots. One doesn�t go from hardcore Christian to secular in the blink of an eye. Look at Amy Grant: she�s always been a Christ-hawker, but once �Baby, Baby� hit the air, nobody but her core fan base knew. In the most recent Rolling Stone or some similar music mag, they featured �Five Christian Bands To Watch�. I will not be watching any of them. In fact, I will be averting my eyes at even the hint of them. I don�t want someone, let alone a group of shitty instrument playing pop punk posing someones jamming wads of religion down my throat. If I want religion, I�ll step inside a church, but until I make that decision, I want nothing to do with it.

If anything, I am the most offended by it because I love music and the state of music today makes me want to break down crying. Unless you�re tied in (i.e. sleeping) with the indie circuit, there�s no way to find what�s good. I know that people say that the garage rock resurgence is where it�s at, but I can really do without The Strokes, The Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The Raveonettes, and Kings of Leon. None of it appeals to me and I find myself listening to things that are verging on being considered classic rock.

End of snit.

diarist.net