Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 12:30 pm on 09.25.03

I didn�t update yesterday. I had nothing of note to say. No, nothing terrible happened or anything, it was just a slow day for me and I didn�t feel like complaining about it. I did find something troubling on Tuesday afternoon, but it was quickly taken care of and the stress evaporated because I knew how it came to be here and I knew that it wasn�t intentional.

We made some oatmeal cookies Tuesday night, but I think the recipe was a dud because they came out reminiscent of little oatmealy hockey pucks. We�ve been asking each other if we�d like a puck ever since. They�re tasty, but I think I�d much prefer them with dried fruit of some kind. An oatmeal cookie isn�t an oatmeal cookie unless it�s got dried fruit in.

Luke brought me home a bunch of presents yesterday. First, he got me a book on Dreamweaver MX, but because they were cleaning out the kids� section, he brought me home mini magnifying glasses, a tong of sticker, a pin that says, �devour a poem� with a little dinosaur on it, Babe pins, and a stamp. He�s such a love, that one.

He called midday yesterday just after I finished burning a Buffy music CD for Subversive and told me that a coworker of his had just handed him three dollars and she wanted Hem�s Rabbit Songs (I couldn�t recommend this album more highly), Clem Snide�s The Ghost of Fashion, and Tool�s �nima. So, I burned the first two and looked at the last to discover that we still have two copies, so I decided to just give her one of them instead of keeping both and using a CD-R.

The weather has taken a definite turn here. While it was in the 80s last week, we�ve been blasted by cold front after cold front and we�re looking at highs of only 50 next week. The nights are wonderful, as I adore piling blankets on the bed with the air outside our little cocoon all chilly. I woke to pee in the middle of the night last night to hear the heater bustling away. A neighbor must have turned theirs on because we rarely use it and it tends to go on everywhere when one person decides to give it a go. I have been turning on the heater in the bathroom when we shower lately. I just wish that the heater stink would go away. What the hell is it that smells so bad?

I�m getting excited about being able to go grocery shopping this weekend. We�ve decided that I�ll be making lots of soups and freezing them so that we can have plenty on hand for sicknesses, dinners on the fly, lunches, and whatever else we need it for. I also plan on making my dad�s fettuccine alfredo with all the delicious stuff in it and some other stuff we haven�t had in some time.

I found a job in the free weekly that I�d like to apply for today. It�s to be a captioner for hard of hearing/deaf people, and I would like to think that I�m pretty well qualified for it, being very proficient in the worlds of spelling, reading, and typing. It would, of course, also mean more money in the house, something we desperately need if we expect to be moving in close to five months. I know what we need to have on hand for the move itself, what the truck will cost, but we need above and beyond that to be able to have a cushion, money for first, last, and security in a new place. I just worry that no one will hire me at this point. I�ve been out of work for a year and a half on the 12th of October and everyone knows that such a thing looks really awful. Oh, shit. I just looked at it again and it�s for 3rd shift, something I couldn�t ever manage to do. Goddamnit, why can�t there be any decent jobs out there? Blah. No more whining from me on that subject.

I�ve been thinking that I want to get into making more intricate designs for my page here, but I don�t have a whole lot of motivation to do it. I suppose that I will read up in my new book and then see if I can get excited about it then.

diarist.net