Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 2:14 pm on 08.28.03

I�m very lonely today and, beyond that by far, bored. I wish that Luke had some time off for vacation. We wouldn�t even have to go anywhere; I just want to be able to spend some time alone with him, sans the interference of outside circumstances.

I called Andy yesterday after I had gotten Luke from work and I was the only one who had called him all day long; even his parents hadn�t called to wish him a happy birthday. When I rang, he was on his way to his friends� house because they had told him they were taking him to dinner. Chances are they ended up going for some sort of Asian cuisine because it�s the only thing Steve can really have, being vegan, but I don�t think it�s fair for Andy to have such things imposed on his on his birthday, especially since he tends to really dislike Asian food of all varieties. I don�t understand his dislike for such cuisine, as I tend to adore it, but then again, I like most types of food, so long as they don�t involve eyeballs, gonads, and internal organs.

Luke told me that he had to inform one of the managers about the girl who has quite literally been stalking him at work. She seems to only go there for the sake of staring at him and attempting conversation. This is the girl who he went to high school with and who asked him out a couple of months ago. She�s a total lunatic from the sound of things. The girl is constantly falling down; last time she took a header down the B&N stairs. She also gave the evil eye to one of Luke�s coworkers yesterday when he had gone back to his office because said female coworker had been talking to Luke for a bit. I wonder what she�d have done had I been there. Chances are, he�d have pointed her out to me, I�d have given him a nice juicy kiss, and then gone and asked to speak to her outside, not for the sake of violence, but because the girl�s out of her gourd, and if things were to erupt I�d want to have plenty of room in which to lay the smack down. One of Luke�s coworkers, Greg, asked him yesterday how I felt about the whole stalker situation. That�s the first time that anyone has really asked after me from there; this is a guy to whom I�ve never even been properly introduced, but I imagine that since I know him by sight, he also knows me.

Also, one of his other coworkers started hitting on him last week. She�s also out of her mind, the type who thrives on chaos. She knows he has a girlfriend to whom he is very committed, which is they only reason she�s interested in him in the first place. This is the same girl who dated one of her coworkers, got dumped, and then tried to sleep with the ex�s best friend, the aforementioned Greg, in revenge. Only thing is, Greg shut her down pretty quickly and now she hates both him and his girlfriend (yes, you guessed it, an employee). I�ve been finding out way too much about B&N�s incestuousness lately. Apparently, Greg used to also date another employee and dumped her for current flame. Luke said that even if he didn�t have me to come home to, chances are that he wouldn�t try to pursue a relationship within the store because it seems as though everybody has slept with everybody else and that thought is just plain creepy. I wonder if the trend is born of convenience or if it�s simply the only place they think they can find like-minded people in this city. Madison is a pretty diverse place, so I know that B&N isn�t the only place you can find the bookish and intelligent around here, but it seems as though they need to be clued in.

I do have a bit of a problem with this whole thing. I know it�s because of my own insecurities, but I don�t like that there are at least two girls after him and I can�t be there to step up and assert my claim. It sounds weird to say that he�s my claim, but he�s mine and I am most certainly his, therefore, to me it makes perfect sense. I am a very jealous girlfriend. I know that he isn�t even considering taking any of these girls up on their offers, but it still irks me more than a little bit. He is very cognizant that it bothers me and goes out of his way to reinforce that he�s fairly repelled by these people, but I have to say that I just plain hate it and if there were a feasible way for me to be nice about saying, �fuck off. He�s my boyfriend and he�s told you he�s beyond spoken for, so go find something else to amuse yourself.� Luke doesn�t seem to be able to be firm enough in that respect. I know that he really hates that these girls keep bothering him, says that he finds himself losing grip on his patience every time he has to talk to the stalker, but I wish he would just lay down the law and tell her to leave him alone because she doesn�t have a carrot�s chance in a horse barn and it�s making him very uncomfortable.

diarist.net