Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:16 pm on 07.25.03

My computer is being an idiot today. My bottom toolbar, which is supposed to auto-hide, won�t come out of hiding unless I hit the Start menu shortcut key and it�s getting a little irritating. Yes, I know I didn�t update yesterday, but that was no fault of mine. I was waiting for a phone call all day long and only had the opportunity to check my mail. Trust me, I wasn�t happy about it, either. I was especially irritated when the call never came. To be honest, though, nothing of consequence happened, so it would have been yet another day of me trying to fill a space with empty words, forcing myself to write simply for the sake of writing.

We watched Queer Eye for the Straight Guy for the first time last night. Now I want cable something bad. It hardly seems fair that most of the good shows go to cable. Though, I do have to say that The Six Wives of Henry VIII on PBS was quite good. Prior to watching it, I knew how many wives he�d had and how he managed to get rid of them, along with my personal memory device �3 Catherines, 2 Annes, and a Jane�, but I never knew the minutiae of it all and I found it to be very interesting.

One thing that I did learn on Wednesday was that C�s girlfriend�s parents kicked her out of the house for dating him. I have to say that I can�t blame them at all. I hate to say it, but I think I�d toss my child out on his/her ear if they were dating him, too. If I didn�t kick him/her out, I�d at least threaten it. He�s a terrible influence on people and unkind at that. Apparently, she�s going to be moving in with Jim and his roommate. I wonder how long it�s going to take before Jim gets her drunk and nails her. Luke says that the possibility of that happening is probably pretty low, but that if it did happen he doesn�t think C would care all that much.

Luke might end up working on Monday for a short spell. A friend of his needs someone to cover his shift and Luke offered to take it. This means that he�d work less time on Wednesday, though, so I think it�s a fine idea. Things seem to have settled down for him there. He spoke with the manager and she apologized, saying that magazines will be his priority from now on and she also gave him graphic novels. He�s been in magazines all week and he brought me home Cooking Light and Saveur last night. Lots of yummy recipes that we�d like to try out in those two.

The lovely weather of earlier this week is gone now and, while sunny, it�s hot and humid, so I�m sitting inside in relative air-conditioned comfort. We dropped off our city job applications, went to the bank, and took refresher showers before Luke had to be at work. We were both worried about being a little funky, so showering was a good idea. Now I feel refreshed and smell like baby powder.

I know that this entry seems scattered. That�s because it is. I�m a walking non sequitur today.

I dreamt last night that I was making out with Jack White. He and Meg were still married, but he liked me better and kept sneaking around to see me and fool around. I have to say that it was the best dream I�ve had in a long time. Oh, so delicious. He and Meg also had a child together. She was absolutely adorable and they got her a little orange kitten. Unfortunately, said little orange kitten was ill and they left it with me when they went back out on tour. I was heartbroken when they left. Damnit, Jack White, why won�t you be mine? Dump that rotten pinchy-faced Zellweger and date me! I�m sure Luke wouldn�t mind. I mean, he�d get to say that he�s sharing me with a rock star, and who doesn�t want that?!

diarist.net