Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:00 pm on 07.26.03

I just got home from dropping Luke off at work and as I was getting out of the car to come inside, I saw two seed floats seemingly stuck together dancing along on the breeze. It made me think of Luke and I, bonded so intensely and going through our lives together, always attached and rolling with what comes to us.

I spent the evening here at home doing little. I made myself some dinner, washed the dishes, and computed for most of the night. When I picked Luke up, he had managed to wrangle me half a lovely cheesecake that was past its sell date. Still damn delicious, though. As everyone knows, the sell date is only a guideline; it doesn�t automatically mean that it�s bad on that day. I had a piece last night and it was all creamy goodness.

The cat was being a serious jerk last night starting at around 4am. I woke up to go to the bathroom only to return and find that he had completely taken over my pillow, so I had to throw him off. Less than half an hour later, I had fallen back asleep and was woken by a shrill beeping; he had been trying to get at my plants, stepped on the phone cradle and mashed the page button, so I had to get up again, find the fucking phone, and turn it on so that it would stop making so much noise. I nearly killed the little bastard. Not long after, he had jumped up onto my dresser to try and chew on the plant in the bedroom. He saw that I was awake and coming after him, so in his clumsiness, he knocked over my open bottle of baby powder and my deodorant before scampering off. The noise woke Luke up and I had to turn on my light to see what the damage was. Luckily, there was none. After all of that, I shut him out of the room, deciding that sleep was more important than air-conditioned sleep. (I desperately need an air conditioner for the bedroom.) I don�t know what motivates him to be such a little bastard, but it makes me crazy. I have marks on my arm from when I was clipping his claws this morning. Usually, he�s fine with it, but today he was Mr. Bite N. Rabbit Kick.

Last night didn�t bring more dreams of Jack White. Instead, it was dreams of Luke, but those are just as good. I think it was because I was very snuggled up with him right before I went to sleep, nestled in the spot under his arm with my head on his chest. That has to be my favorite place. It was cool outside the blankets and perfect inside and I was all cozied up to him after our shower. It�s the little things like that, which really make me happy. I don�t need fancy jewelry or dinners out; all I need is that space and on him only. We just seem to fit.

Can you tell I�m feeling better this week than I have lately? Good. I seem to have gotten my head back on where it belongs and let all of the recent stress go. Sometimes I just need to decompress and the past few weeks, I think, were just evidence of that. I don�t like decompression much, but there is very little else that I can do to ease it. I�m pretty much always stressed out as it is, but rarely to the point of being non-functional. I think it�s safe to say that I was non-functioning for those weeks. I couldn�t seem to do anything and crying was imminent at the drop of a hat. I haven�t felt like that all week though and crying hasn�t even occurred to me when something minor has come up.

I don�t know what�s on order for the weekend. I know that we have to do laundry at some point and that Luke is not working Monday night after all, so we have all tomorrow and Monday to do something. I do sometimes wish that we were just content to stay at home and have sex all day like we used to, but at least there�s more to us than sex at this point.

diarist.net