Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 12:23 pm on 07.22.03

I had a lovely weekend! The experimental pasta was really great, though better the first time around than in leftovers. There�s still some in the fridge, but I don�t know that it will get eaten. I mean, I�ll probably start to feel guilty about it sitting there going to waste in the fridge and eat it at some point, but for now, I think I�ll just let it sit. Luke surprised me Saturday night by coming home early from work. I was sitting here playing some stupid, mindless game when someone tried to open the locked door. I heard the key in the lock next and there he was saying that it was really dead and management had said that people could go home if they wanted to. Luckily Muppet and Andy were shopping there and he got a ride home with them, choosing to come home and spend time with me rather than going out and carousing (such as it is with those two) with the boys.

Sunday brought word puzzles and laundry doing at M&G�s. It was an okay day, I suppose. Much better than usual, as M was feeling social and I had the aforementioned word puzzles to do while waiting for everything to wash and dry. We had dinner over there, came home, and watched TV. And�there was sex! Hooray for sex! It was the first time we�d been able to since the arrival of the yeast, but since it�s banishment to the outer rings of hell, things have been going swimmingly.

Yesterday we woke, hung around, and decided that we�d go see a movie, poverty be damned. I was ambivalent about the three forerunners so I left the final decision up to Luke. He chose 28 Days Later, which I had been sort of interested in seeing, but tend to be a big wuss when it comes to anything remotely horrifying and so was apprehensive. But, it was really good. I enjoyed it a lot, despite all the social commentary toward the end, because it�s true what the filmmaker was saying. We then went to the City-County building and grabbed job applications and returned home. We lazed about here until 7ish and then went to Andy�s. Dinner was had at Olive Garden (their new stuff isn�t so great; stick with the standards if you go in the near future), poverty being damned again, and we now have a fridge full of leftovers since the soup, salad, and breadsticks tend to really do us in. This is why we always arrive back at home saying we should have just gone with the triple threat without the entrees. But, at least I have lunches for a couple of days at the very least. Luke wasn�t so fond of his meal, so he said that it�s mine for the noshing in the coming days.

Andy�s been really talking a lot about his ex pseudo-girlfriend for a while now. I know he feels there�s no closure involved and would like to figure out just what the hell was going on with that were she to call, but I also know that he�s better off not being in contact. She�d just manipulate him all over again and I�d have to go into psycho mode, find her, and torture her for several days before finally ending her life. What she did to him is unforgivable. Andy�s too nice and far too na�ve to be treated in such a way. Yes, I do tend to be a bit brutal with him at times, but I�m never outright cruel to him. The deal with her is this: Andy was in love with her for a couple of years, but for a time she was dating Travis, who hated her, and when they broke up she moved away and he lost contact. He finally got back in touch with her and she moved in with him, not in any sort of dating capacity, but as a roommate, but there were a lot of facets of that relationship which mimicked something serious. They�d spend the night together (sex free) and they�d go out; he�d take her to dinner and they were in all aspects a couple, save for the lack of sex and the fact that she fucked other people the entire time (directly above poor Andy�s bedroom and every night without fail). She tortured him without touching him and made him crazy. We had warned him, but he was too blind to heed, so this is what he dealt with for six months before kicking her out. I hope that he has learned from this, but given his past masochism in the face of women, I doubt it has altered him considerably.

We were back from Andy�s at around 10, so we showered, watched some TV, and went at it before I got really sleepy around 12. Luke read while I snoozed and I don�t� know what time it was, but he had obviously been asleep for some time when he started talking, nearly yelling, in his sleep. It wasn�t your standard sleep-talk; he was clearly distressed, so I woke him up, told him he was having a nightmare and held him for a bit. He cuddled up to me and we both fell back asleep. When I woke up this morning, Id didn�t know whether I had dreamt the whole thing or not, but he said that he must have had a nightmare and couldn�t remember it. As luck would have it, we both woke roughly � an hour prior to the alarm�s scheduled ringing, so I think it�s safe to say that I sent him to work happy (twice!) and with a peanut butter and jelly sandwich to boot.

I borrowed 10 Things I Hate About You from Andy, so I�m going to be watching that today while I fold laundry and laze about per usual. I should probably call about some jobs as well, but oddly enough, that�s not feeling like a priority today.

diarist.net