Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:17 pm on 07.19.03

Today is much better so far than yesterday. I�m listening to my pirated copy of Beth Orton�s Central Reservation (thanks, Andy) and I just had a bowl of Cracklin� Oat Bran.

There was much shuffling around to be done regarding Luke�s dinner break and my going over to Andy�s but eventually it all got figured out and I got to have the closest approximation to girl-talk possible with Andy. He and I lost track of time talking and didn�t realize that I was late to pick up Luke until the last second. When I showed up to get Luke (which really wasn�t all that late, it�s just that he tends to get out late when I�m on time and on time when I�m late), he said that he had tried to call the house twice and Andy once, but there wasn�t any answer and that he had begun to panic. I apologized and upon hearing today that Andy might give me a call tonight, he said to make sure that I pay attention to the clock if I go over there so that I don�t throw him into a panic frenzy again.

I think this was the first time he�s ever been genuinely worried about me when we were apart. I was talking to Andy about Luke�s utter lack of jealousy/protectiveness and my healthy amount of it only to have Luke freak out over my being a little late for the first time in the tenure of our entire relationship. Just like a boy. I know it wasn�t jealousy because he says he would trust Andy with me even were I to be the most untrustworthy girlfriend on earth; he said that instead, it was a fear of the car having gone kerflooey and me being stranded in a ditch somewhere.

Unfortunately, he had a major headache, so he went straight to bed after our shower while I stayed up (in bed) and watched a movie. Sleeping weather was perfect last night. Truly perfect. I think it must have gotten into the lower 50s, if not the upper 40s and I was able to keep the window open and be all cozy under the blankets at the same time. I wish every night were that nice.

D, the asshat father of the boy, called (twice!) and asked if we wanted to attend a pig roast held by Luke�s least favorite uncle somewhere in Illinois tomorrow. Uh, no, we don�t want to drive two hours each way only to spend time with people whom we try to avoid in the first place. Besides, I like my pork cut into nice nondescript pieces, thanks. Don�t go sticking a metal rod through a whole animal and expect me to be okay with it. I�ve never actually met the uncle in question, but from what I�ve heard he�s a wee bit unsavory (much like D) and his kids are beyond bizarre, having had to share a bedroom well into their teens and both being of different sexes. I guess the boy cousin is gay (no big deal), but obnoxious as all hell and the girl is butch and also hellish to deal with. I wonder how gender lines can get crossed like that.

If I don�t go over to Andy�s, I imagine I�ll make myself some experimental pasta (I have a good idea of what I want to do, but it�s not something I�ve done previously) and watch TV. I wish there�d be an episode of History Detectives on PBS, but no such luck. As far as I can tell, that�s just a weekday thing.

Apparently, Andy said that he might be able to hook me up with a job where he is. They�re looking for a branch manager, so I�d be salaried and trained by the district manager and I�ve met the guy who�s doing the hiring. Plus, I�d only be managing Andy and from what he says, there�s not a whole lot more involved in the management aspect than there is in his position. I�d get to listen to music all day and sit down. Now, if only I had a laptop with a DVD drive. That would make everything perfect. I could watch movies on the job. Where else do people have leeway like that? I have to email my r�sum� to Andy and he�ll pass it on to Pat. My r�sum� really isn�t all that impressive, but it�s better than nothing.

I rewatched the end of Buffy yesterday with Luke and I have to say that though I would have preferred that the show not end, the finale was fitting. I was pleased, if a bit saddened and at least I didn�t sit there blubbering again yesterday like I did Friday when I watched it. I know now that I�m going to have to become a habitual Angel watcher since James Marsters has signed on and I just need my Spike fixes for as long as I can get them. (Yes, I know what happened to Spike in the end, but good things are afoot.)

So, now I�m bored with nothing to do but empty the dishwasher and put away the laundry I folded lo those many days ago, but I really don�t want to do any of that, so I�ll probably just watch the tube and be a potato.

diarist.net