Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:47 pm on 07.11.03

I have decided, as far as I know, that I will not be leaving Luke. I expressed my need for major change last night and we have set the date for getting out of here as March 1. It�s far longer than I would like, but that�s the soonest we can foresee having the money and it�s also when our lease here runs out. I have also laid down the condition that we must go back to visit for Christmas this year, come hell or high water. I think he now understands just how desperate my situation is and is willing to stick by me as I try and work my way out of the emotional mire. Actually, he�s more willing to stick by than I am to have him do so. I would sometimes rather be left to do this on my own, but I know that it�s best to have him along in the long run. Last night while we were working out when to move, he said something about wanting our heads to be above water financially and I told him that finances can�t be a priority for me right now as I�m having a hard enough time keeping my head above water in terms of just making it through the day.

I don�t think I slept at all last night. The TV was turned off at about 12:45am and the last time I bothered to look at the clock was after 3. I know I slept at some point, but for how long I don�t know. All I know is that I woke with a start several times and had trouble getting back to sleep.

To define where I am emotionally would be very difficult. Most of the time, I really don�t feel much of anything. It�s almost as if I�m hollow and the winds make a whistling sound as they blow through me. I have a hard time cracking either smile or frown and though there may be a lump prickling in my throat, I can�t seem to cry. Being touched doesn�t fell like much, either. The warmth that usually surrounds a touch is gone and all I feel is a desire to worm away. I guess that feeling this way leads me to believe that I am unworthy of attention and love because, ultimately, I am. Who wants to spend time with a person whose eyes have gone dull and whose speech has gone soft and apathetic? I know that deep down somewhere there�s a lot of pain, but most of the time I really can�t feel it. I also know that somewhere within me dwells the love I need in order to be fair to Luke, but I�m so entrenched that it�s not got room to squeeze out. I do love him. I don�t say it because I need to reassure myself of the fact; I say it because it�s truth. My love for him is an integral part of me; it grows in me and around me as every day goes by.

To end the relationship now would be unfair to both of us. I�d forever look back and know that I gave up something more enriching and genuine than anything else. Not only that, but I would have the guilt of having broken Luke�s heart so callously with little regard for him. He has said before that were we to break up, he wouldn�t want to remain friends, that he�d be unable to bear seeing me dating other people while he still loved me. Losing him, as both love and best friend, would almost certainly prove to be a blow from which I would have an immensely difficult time recovering and it�s something I simply am not willing to do, especially given his selflessness in wanting to put things aside and help get me back to be where I need to be in order to live a semi-normal life.

We�ve decided that I�m going to be bringing him his dinner tonight and tomorrow. We need the time together and it will get me out of the house, if only for a short while. One of my problems is that I simply don�t get out enough. We don�t have money to do things and I don�t like to go out and about on my own, so with him is the only way I ever get out. Prior to today, I hadn�t been out of the house since Monday and I think it�s been anything but helpful to me. I know that what I really need is to get away for a week or so, but with Luke working and not having any vacation days yet, that�s an impossibility. I know that there are people with whom I could possibly stay in cities around the country, provided we were able to cart ourselves there, but I don�t feel very good asking to stay with people and it�s not like it�s really a viable option anyway, given the lack of available days.

I haven�t been getting enough to drink since the weather cooled off earlier this week. I need to make it a point to drink even when I�m not sweating like crazy. My body will most certainly thank me, especially since I�ve been crying a lot lately and losing water that way, too. I just hope that I�m able to remain awake tonight. I know that napping would be something to file under bad ideas since I didn�t sleep last night and it would be much easier to do so without catching up first. I also think that some reconnecting is needed in terms of physicality between Luke and I. Nothing has happened since at least Monday (I can�t even remember) and we need to show that we love another in ways other than speech. The upheaval this week has been really bad for both of us and I know this. I just don�t know how to stop it.

diarist.net