Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 12:46 pm on 07.08.03

We�ve had thunderstorms for the past 5 or 6 mornings in a row. Unfortunately, they�re not doing as they usually do and cooling things down. Instead it makes for humidity that makes you stick to everything and today is the first day that it�s been even remotely bearable.

I have calmed down considerably since Saturday evening when I was so overwrought about the car situation. Yes, we�ve been stuck with G�s car, but he�s going to be fixing it next weekend and it may only be ours until next month when C goes to college. I�m just hoping he opts to take it and we get something newer and better. We spent the day over at M&G�s yesterday because they needed the car starting at 8am, so we got up at 7:15, left at 7:30 and arrived right on time. The bad part about spending the day there was that I spent three hours sleeping on the couch and there is nothing to do there. I don�t know what makes their house so boring in comparison to ours, but maybe it�s just that we have stuff that�s suited to entertain us and they have things that are not. We also went along with them to get their new-to-them Toyota, but the kid selling it to them reneged on his previous statement that he would take a check, so we ended up taking the trip for nothing. They�re going to be picking it up tonight when they have managed to get cash, but we don�t have to go along. We have some stuff of theirs that we forgot to bring along with us yesterday, so I�m hoping that they will stop by when they come up.

Having a car that is automatic means that Luke can drive himself to and from work. Of course, this means that I have even less to do with my day than when I was bringing him lunch and picking him up. I�m sure I�ll manage to fill the time somehow.

Going back to what I said about eating disorders the other day, wouldn�t you know it, but when we went to the grocery store on Sunday there was a woman who was clearly under self-imposed famine. She made the mistake of wearing a big polar fleece jacket to cover it up paired with spandex pants. Her calves were the same size as her thighs and her collar and facial bones were far more prominent than they should be. It was obvious that she was seriously involved in her disorder by glancing into her cart. It held lots of sugar free Jell-o, some fresh veggies, and nonfat everything else. It made me so sad to look at her, imagining how she�s torturing herself. On the other hand, I also wanted to shake her and try to explain to her that dying is not living. I kept to myself instead.

Immediately post-shop, Luke managed to find shoes that were to his liking. They�re not black, but they are Airwalks and they were worth every penny he spent on them. He was positively glowing yesterday because he had actual soles under his feet. His old shoes had deteriorated to the point where the soles were falling off and they had been worn so much that he could poke his foot with his finger and feel it.

In other news, Luke�s ex-girlfriend wrote back to him. She was talking about unfinished business in the last one and he asked her what she meant. He was very terse and to the point, thus officially proving that he doesn�t want anything to do with her. She says in her response that she�s sorry for having been such a fuckwit and that she�s going to be having a baby next month with her in-Kuwait soldier husband. I don�t know what I think about this. On one hand, I don�t like Luke talking to her, but that�s because she really fucked things up for him. She cheated, she lied, and she was completely insane, attempting suicide weekly. This behavior of hers has changed the way that Luke acts in relationships and I hate her for it. I�ve never met the girl, but chances are that if I did, I�d tear out her larynx with my bare hands and then attempt to make her eat it. I don�t care that she�s pregnant again. Crazy people don�t deserve to have babies. On the other hand, I�m glad that she wants to apologize. I know that Luke doesn�t care, but I think it�ll go a little way to heal the damage she caused. Of course, as much apologizing as she does, it won�t heal all of it. He�ll always be worried about cheating and having his heart broken again.

I think I�m going to do some cleaning to pass the time. Luke�s side of the bed, though it�s not my responsibility by a long shot, is a mess and I can�t bear to look at it anymore, so I think I�m going to tidy it up. I also have some kitchen cleaning to do along with seeing to the bathroom, so I think I�ve got my work cut out for me.

diarist.net