Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 3:48 pm on 06.21.03

Alas, there was no parking lot seduction last night. I arrived at B&N to find it mobbed, and though I did find Luke, he had just eaten a handful of Cool Ranch Doritos and, I�m sorry, but I just can�t get in the mood with a stink like that happening. I told him what my plan had been and he was rather apologetic for the rest of our half hour together. I think he knows it was his loss, especially given that it�s been since Wednesday.

I spent the evening doing just as I had planned. I showered, got into some jammies, put on Buffy Season 3, Disc 5 and later on had some ice cream. It was really a nice evening, considering it was long and I was all alone. Luckily, Luke called at 2:30a to say that he was done. I was willing myself to stay awake at that point as it was, and had even gone so far as to eat some cereal to keep me awake. I figured that as long as I had to lift spoon to mouth, I couldn�t fall asleep. I guess B&N�s final tally for last night was 1,000 copies in an hour and 15 minutes. Not bad. Luke said the funniest/weirdest thing that happened was when the first girls to arrive at his register got their books; they were so enthralled and crazy that they smelled them. Yes, smelled them. One of them was dumb enough to comment immediately afterwards that it smelled like a book. Idiots. My boy, being evil as he is, stood behind the register and, at 11:58, started paging through a copy, just to rub it in that the throng had to wait another two minutes.

This morning was boring, as Luke slept until noon and I got up at 11:30 to watch more Buffy. It ended up being all we did until it was time for him to go to work. I made breakfast and all, but we didn�t do anything of note.

Right before we had to leave to get him to work on time, I was getting dressed and he came into the bedroom to tell me that he�s sorry that we don�t get to do anything anymore. He said that he wishes he could just sit around with me all day long, even if it�s just doing nothing, just being near me. He also apologized for the lack of sex, and that started us crying, holding onto one another for dear life, and not wanting the other to know about the tears cascading down our cheeks. It�s hard sometimes, this navigating of a long-term relationship. I think we both miss the urgency of what we had early on. We may be comfortable now, but it�s not exciting anymore and we both know it. No matter how well bonded we may be, I think we�ll always miss the getting to know you period. But, enough of the sadness. We dried up with ease, I finished dressing, and we were off.

I think we�re in for a decent weekend. It�s going to be hot, but we have air conditioning (in the house at least) and I don�t think we have any plans extending beyond laundry anyhow. Next weekend is the big one, so far as I can tell. C�s party is on Saturday and Luke made it a point to take that day off, so we have three whole days of togetherness to look forward to. M�s having the whole thing catered and has rented a moon room. I�m really hoping that there won�t be too much alcohol involved. I don�t� think it�s appropriate for a kid�s graduation party to be heavily fortified with alcoholic libations. I don�t care that he will be under the watchful eye of his mother; C shouldn�t be drinking in the first place and I have a feeling M knows it.

diarist.net