Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 6:47 pm on 05.20.03

I had a job interview this afternoon�completely on the fly. I had left a message with the mobile DJ guy and he called me right back, telling me that he had a cancellation at 2 and did I want to come in then. So, I spent forever trying to wrangle my hair into something presentable and headed out the door. The guy did a fair amount of gratuitous coming on to me, but it was all in good fun as I made it clear that I have a boyfriend and he mentioned a wife. Not that I would be interested were I single. He�s a bit on the doughy, older side for me. He also made it a point to say that he was out for cheap laughs not offense, so it made him relatively easy to take and we seemed to get along pretty well. Don't holler at me about the flashing issue. Trust me, it had its place. It came up when he asked me about some of the wacky stuff I've done in order to gauge my personality. He didn't want a sad sack who doesn't know how to have fun.

The job is essentially mine if I want it. I�d be DJ-ing parties and weddings, things like that. It pays relatively well, but it�s sporadic and the three rounds of training are completely unpaid, so I don�t know that I�ll take it yet. It does give me the opportunity to learn magic tricks and how to make balloon animals if I want to. I have an application coming my way from another company and I�m going to see how that goes before throwing my hat into any one ring.

Upon my return home, having brought Luke his lunch and retrieved the mail, I received lovely, lovely clothes from Courtney. I was all atwitter. Everything is beautiful and I love, love, love it. It gives me something to wear this summer/spring.

I also happened to come online to find that Muppet had directed an away message at Luke, but seeing as Luke isn�t home, I responded for him. He had forgotten our phone number and wanted to tell us that he has M�s portfolio (she applied for a job at his company). I guess he�s going to be stopping by this evening before heading off to Andy�s to do something with him. It�s been months since we saw him. The other day I made a bunch of South Park people based on Me, Luke, Andy, and Muppet. Oddly enough, the one of Muppet is uncanny. South Park fits him like a glove. I�m going to show it to him when he comes around.

It looks as though I am the only one left from the old high school crew in a concrete relationship yet again. Maggie said she broke it off with her fianc�. I never met the guy, but her reasons are more than valid. She�s got a good head on her shoulders and knows what she wants and needs in her life. She had a dress and everything. It�s weird to think that not only was I one of the last to become involved in such a way, I�m also the last one standing, so to speak. I guess delaying that sort of thing can pay off. Sure, I may have less dating experience under my belt, having only officially been the girlfriend of two people, but it gave me time to get to know myself and set my standards how I wanted them. There is a lot to be said for maturing before hopping into someone�s arms. This is not to say that Luke and I haven�t matured in the time we�ve been together because we have. I see it in Luke more than myself, but that�s because I am capable of being more objective in how I see him. I can�t step out of myself and look at the progress I�ve made. I have made progress, this I know.

diarist.net