Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 12:28 pm on 04.17.03

Luke was crowding me all night as he slept. I never have the heart to wake him up and tell him to move the hell over, as he�s just too cute to disturb. Only when he snores to wake the dead do I make any move towards disturbing his sleep. Getting to sleep after I�ve brought him to work makes up for it, which I did again today despite that he went in at eight forty five. I did, however, wake almost an hour before my alarm was set to go off so that�s some indication that I get more sleep when he goes in later.

We spent a great deal of time after showering just cuddling in bed listening to the greatest compilation disc I�ve ever heard. It came from CMJ sometime last summer and I love it to death. We played it nonstop for a couple of months after we got it and then it somehow managed to fall by the wayside, but it�s back, baby! I think that it only has two duds on it, one of which is listenable, but the other of which is last on the disc so you can simply shut if off instead of having to fast forward. It�s got Atmosphere, The Tragically Hip, Jucifer, Cousteau, The Flaming Lips, and a bunch of other not-so-well-knowns. I adore it when we�re snuggled up under the covers and listening to music with our eyes closed. Granted, being snuggled up leads to other things, but I will say no more.

I�m starting to get really anxious about my grandmama dying. I am afraid every time the phone rings that it�s going to be a family member telling me that she slipped away and they�re sending me a plane ticket so that I can come to the funeral. It�s not as if I have had indication that she is doing poorly, I just feel strangely. I don�t get that feeling often and for me to get it now is strange. She just passed her ninety-second birthday in the past week and she is being very well taken care of. As far as I know they�ve gotten her congestive heart failure under control and everything. I didn�t even get this feeling last year when we were with Luke�s great grandpa a week and a half before he died. Of all the times I should have gotten that feeling, it should have been then, when I was in close quarters with the person in question.

I am so excited about going North this weekend. It�s been forever and sex in the bed we share at grandma�s house is always fun. I love that we have to be as quiet as possible to avoid detection. I feel so naughty. I�m also completely enthused about going to the cheese shop. Being the cheese lover that I am, I have been missing that place. I�m really looking forward to some fresh and squeaky curds and the host of other cheeses we tend to grab. I�m hoping that we�ll have the time to run over there and shop to our hearts� delight.

I�m a little irked about having to spend the night in the same house as C, but at least I have the satisfaction that he�ll probably spend a decent amount of time with his father (which I�m hoping Luke won�t insist upon doing) and that because Luke is coupled, he has to sleep on the couch. This makes me evil, I know. More than likely, I�ll be in his presence for less than a full day as I�m sure M, G, & C are leaving some time after dinner on Sunday and we�re making our departure on Monday. I tend to insist that we stay for at least two nights so that I can avoid having to drive five hours out of twenty-four. It�s just not worth it. I worry a little bit about the car, but that�s probably only because we haven�t driven it that far in one stretch since all those major problems popped up seemingly at once. It�s been running better than it has in years and I have no reason for the anxiety, save for that it�s a one hundred fifty mile trip on roads that tend to be a little desolate and we are cell phone-less in case of emergency. All this will pass as the time gets closer and we make our way up there.

Again last night the cat decided to be a holy terror. It was three thirty before he started, but he hopped up on my pillow and started whining at me again. When I tried to pick him up he went into dead weight mode and made it all the more difficult for my sleep addled self to pick him up and toss him out of the room. I will not let this discourage me, though. I have to get him used to being in the same room with us because once the hot weather comes and air conditioning become requisite, we�ll have no choice other than to move the bed into the living room and sleep there, which is something neither of us is really excited about doing. I was hoping that we could maybe use the spare unit that M&G have, but according to Luke it required outside propping and finding a way to do so would be nearly impossible since we�re on the third floor.

Is it wrong that someone just buzzed to be let in and I didn�t answer because I was in my pajamas? I just got dressed and checked to see if someone was still there, but I�m guessing it was just someone who needed to be let in for someone else since I�m not expecting anyone. Besides, even if it were someone for me, you�d think that most people would have the courtesy to call and ask if I mind him or her dropping by. Serves them right, being left in the lobby. Hello, I am the �ber-curmudgeon, how can I help you? I can�t wait to be one of those little old ladies with a ton of cats, an equally cranky husband, and a perfect lawn so that I can yell at all of the obnoxious young people I encounter. I will be the wrinkled to reckon with!

diarist.net