Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 1:07 pm on 04.16.03

Shit, that was melodramatic, wasn�t it? That is what happens when I�m all alone and trapped inside my head with no one to talk to and nothing to distract me. This is the reason that laughter is the best way to get me out of a crap mood. That and elation is what makes up the bulk of my teenage journals. I only wrote when I was in the doldrums or happy to the point of implosion.

After Luke got home, we had a good afternoon. On the way home, he massaged my neck while I drove and then sat with me on the couch snacking and doing his logic puzzles. He asked me several times if I was okay, but in time I was and telling him that I was in a funk wasn�t necessary. He even took advantage of being aroused when it happened. I was pleased as punch, despite it being hotter than all get out. That�s the kind of loving that I adore. It�s the stuff that isn�t planned and happens just because you�re in the moment.

We had to grab a few things at the grocery store and seriously stocked up on beverages. I think I was a little dehydrated since after our shower I drank two glasses of whatever was cold and readily available and didn�t have to get up once during the night.

It cooled down about forty degrees overnight but we didn�t get any weather to speak of, just a stiff breeze. I don�t really care how it got cooler, I�m just glad that it did. Mid-eighties in April is wrong on more levels than I care to account for. Of course, I think mid-eighties at any point is wrong since I�m super cranky when it�s hot out and thrive best in air conditioning. I was bad and actually turned it on last night after we got home and I had cut Luke�s hair. It was much hotter in the house than it was outside and I was already doing everything I could to stay cool, so I gave in to the A/C demon and then sat on the couch in front of it to finish The Devil in the White City. It may have been bad, but it felt so good, especially since my hair was all wet and the A/C stopped it dripping.

I brought Luke his lunch today. He brought cheese and crackers with him yesterday and was none too pleased with his choice, so he asked if I�d bring him something today and I don�t ever mind having something worthwhile to break up the monotony. He�s taken to seeing me before I see him and sneaking up behind me as I walk up the center aisle of the store. I almost didn�t recognize him today, though, because his hair is so much shorter. He had me cut it from shoulder length to ear length. We took his lunch out to the car and chatted while he nibbled away on his pita stuffed with curry.

While we were out there, we saw a man and what appeared to be his teenage son coming out of the store with two of the cutest little Asian girls, both toddlers. I assumed that they were adopted and that got us on the kid-having track of conversation. Luke said that he thinks that he would rather adopt kids since there are so many non-white babies that are hard to adopt. I countered that it�s a lot more expensive to adopt than to have a lot of sex and pop one out nine months later, but that I wouldn�t mind having one of our own and then adopting. I don�t want my line to end with me. I�m the only one who can carry on my genetics, since I don�t have cousins on my dad�s side and my brother has only our mother�s genes in common with me. Besides, I think that we would make very good-looking kids. Were it not for all the public kissing, people would probably confuse us a brother and sister. Luke�s hair is darker, but we�ve both got relatively similar facial features.

Why is it that the cat can be an angel one night and be capable of sleeping with us throughout and be absolutely hellish the next? Monday night he slept soundly with us, presumably on a pillow on the floor for the bulk and last night I had to kick him out at two-thirty because he was jumping on me and squawking in my ear. I don�t know whether he sensed that I was awake or what, but I wish there were some consistency. It�s not like I moved or spoke, I just happened to wake a little bit. The next thing I knew, the little blighter was pacing along my side and complaining directly into my ear.

I got an email from today. It was one of those surveys with those ridiculous tidbits of personal trivia that nobody really cares about. In completing it, I realized that it�s possible that she may not know my full name, or those of my parents. She�s known me two and a half years and she doesn�t know these things about me. Is that weird? Or, does she know them and I just don�t know that she knows them? I don�t think that there�s anything in hers that I didn�t know about her.

Luke managed to finagle his Saturday hours so that we can head up to his grandma�s for Easter. I don�t know yet whether we�ll be going Saturday night or Sunday morning, but at least we�ll be going. I was afraid that we were going to be stuck here all alone for Easter like we were on Xmas Eve. It�s not the observance of the holiday that is important for me; it�s the social aspect. We haven�t been up there since Thanksgiving and I really miss his great grandmother. I can�t help but wonder how she�s doing since great grandpa died last summer. I know that she had a tough Thanksgiving and more than likely Christmas too, especially since Luke�s grandmother (who lives directly next door) doesn�t bother to invite them for family get togethers other than birthday parties for the tiny ones. I guess that there was some huge argument about a garden several years ago and that caused a rift that has never quite mended. It seems so petty to let things like that get in the way of family.

diarist.net