Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 7:15 pm on 01.03.03

Car issues still abound. Most recent issue being last night when we were supposed to go do a test drive at 8 pm and M&G didn�t decide whether they were even going to come along until after we had to leave. Luke and I were only six minutes late, but it wasn�t the lateness that made me mad, it was the fact that these people just can�t quit meddling. At literally the last minute they both declared that they know nothing about buying cars. Okay, then why exactly do you insist on having your noses involved in the decision?

Unfortunately for us, the car we test drove was a no go. It had a serious crack in the windshield, it was noisy, and it was also extremely slow to accelerate. Bad times.

I�m trying not to be overly optimistic despite the fact that my job front is looking better by the day. I had an interview with a nanny agency on Monday and, apparently, two families are already interested in me. I have a meeting with one of them tomorrow morning. (Coincidentally, they live on the same street as the guy whose car we drove last night.) The reason I�m trying to avoid the optimism is because I�ve been in the running for excellent jobs before, been given the tour, told about pay and when training starts, and then not gotten the job. It�s heartbreaking, honestly.

Regardless of whether I get this one or not, Luke was promoted the other day. He�ll be getting full time hours, benefits in a month, and a decent raise. So, no matter what, we�ll at least be able to pay the rent and keep ourselves fed. If I get a job, it just means we�ll have a lot more money and will be able to save up for the impending move East as well as buy the little extras that we�ve so missed ever since Luke first got laid off. It would be nice to be able to go out to eat once a week and to buy the little things that we see and want. I�m so tired of the �do I really need this?� rigmarole. Granted, there�s nothing that we desperately need. I mean, we have a lot of stuff that is definitely considered to be expendable in terms of living life, but there�s always room for minor improvements. A new couch, for instance. I really hate this one we have that was given to us by a former friend. It�s scratchy, it�s kind of smelly, and I really don�t like the idea of having a couch on which gay sex was had. Ikea has them and they�re both stylish and cheap.

Of course, the car thing looms as well. I�d love to have a car that I know I can trust. I don�t want something that was bought just because it needed to be in order for us to have something to get around in. I want something that looks nice, smells tolerable, and that has low mileage on it. A decent stereo in it would also be lovely. I�m not looking for a Jag. Just a late model Nissan or something�maybe another Honda.

::sigh:: This mess will all be over soon. We�ve borrowed money to pay the rent and we�re on the way to a decent income. This is all I can ask for.

diarist.net