Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Jeff Buckley's Grace||Thinking about Photoshop||# of days to 23: 53

@ 12:12 pm on 10.15.03

We woke (isn�t he gorgeous?) relatively late Monday morning, having returned to Grandma�s late Sunday and my not having slept terribly soundly and went to visit Luke�s great grandma. She was surprised to see us and we asked after her health before playing a game of Scrabble and some 3 Card Brag with her. I won Scrabble and I can�t quite remember who won the poker, but that�s probably because I had bowed out some time earlier and stopped paying attention to who was winning, choosing to act as Chip-Bot, stacking and arranging each player�s chips as well as contributing the ante for them. We stuck around for three hours or so and then decided to head to the cheese factory, even though as we returned to the house Grandma was just getting back from work and Aria was hollering at me to come and watch a movie with her.

Ah, sweet cheese factory. We grabbed an obscene amount and variety of cheese and headed back, Luke having to eat his ice cream very quickly because it was soft to begin with. I discovered a new favorite type of cheese curds, these with jalapenos thrown in. I actually had to have Luke confiscate them from me so that I wouldn�t eat them all. We chatted as usual on the way back and took some pictures of cows. We basically just hung around after that, being expected to stay for dinner and all.

Aria and Collin, who have barely paid any attention to either of us over the past two years were suddenly all over me. When I first came here, they were both quite small, Aria just 7 months and Collin a little over 2, but they adored me. Not long after, they cooled off considerably and Collin was even a bit nasty at times. Neither child has ever really acknowledged Luke. This time, though, it was as if I couldn�t get them to go away. They were begging me to watch a movie, play hide and seek, watch them with their new golf toy, toss rings with them, among a host of other activities. I don�t know what�s gotten into them.

We had a quiet dinner with Grandma since Papa was out �hunting� and the kids had gone home. J came with pictures from Coco�s (another) first day home, we looked through those, and then made took our leave. Unfortunately, I was having some minor stomach upset, but it didn�t interfere too much. We just had to stop once on the way home and everything was fine after that. We had a lovely night drive back and arrived home to a screaming cat and watched some Osbournes before showering and going to bed.

Last night was wonderful, too. We had some dinner while watching TV, just relaxing, showered and then went into a photo frenzy. It turned a little, uh, blue, shall I say, but most of it isn�t too risqu� to post (the ones that were will stay in our personal collection), so expect some of the better shots to end up here at some point in the future. We had a delightful romp, lights on and everything, and watched some taped SNL before heading to sleep.

Sadly, yesterday�s power outage seems to have really fucked with some things. My lamp is on the fritz, Luke�s alarm clock didn�t go off this morning despite being set for the proper time, and my clock is begging for a battery so that it can maintain the time in such outages. I�m going to try changing the bulb in my lamp to see if that helps any, though last night Luke thought the bulb was dead and when I went to replace it, it was merely loose, a condition that is purely baffling to me, as the bulb hasn�t been touched since I got it.

Oh, before I forget, here is a picture of Lovecraft. Isn�t he just the most adorable thing ever?

diarist.net