Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 12:05 pm on 02.11.03

I have nothing to write about today, strangely enough. I�m not angry, not sad, not ecstatic, just middling in a good way. I�m well rested, a little bored, but content over all. I�m hoping that I don�t have to wait for ages when I go to pick up pills after I get Luke from work.

We did some major grocery shopping yesterday and Luke spoiled the bejesus out of me. There were things I wanted but was reluctant to get, but he would just sneak them into the cart when I wasn�t looking. We spent considerably more than we should have, but at least we know we won�t have to do major grocery shopping again for quite some time. We also picked up some stuff for dinners that we don�t have very often and, in some cases, for brand new recipes.

We�re having butternut bisque tonight. It�s my stepmom�s recipe and I loved having it growing up. It�s one of those recipes that looks and tastes really challenging but upon making it is so much easier than you originally thought. The hardest part about the entire thing is actually cracking open and chopping up the squash. I couldn�t find any pre-peeled and cut at the store so I had to buy two small whole ones. The last time I made it, I thought I was going to need a chainsaw to crack it open.

We�re going to be having a lot of chicken this week. Enchiladas, n� dumplings, and Oriental honey glazed with veggies. We�ve also got chili on the menu, but Luke will be making that since he prefers the flavor packet to seasoning it himself.

I�m kind of at a loss as to what I should get him for Valentine�s Day, if anything. I keep having all these ideas, but nothing seems absolutely right. I was thinking of getting small things and just using them as surprises. Some ideas I had were flowers, a nice dinner (complete with chocolate mousse and whipped cream), a cute homemade card, and some more naughty stuff like the tingly minty �pleasure balm� they have at A Woman�s Touch . What I want isn�t on the website, but they have it in-store. I have a twenty-nine dollar budget, so I have to do everything on the cheap, but I�m no stranger to that and seeing as his favorite Xmas gift from me was the cheapest item (a stuffed sea turtle), I think I can do well. I guess I just have to go out and look around until something strikes me. I just wish it weren�t so cold. That would make going out and looking around so much easier.

diarist.net