Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:59 pm on 09.12.03

I got to thinking yesterday about whether or not I am at the age at which I can start expecting my family members to die. The first time I had a friend who lost a parent, I was 12. Another two lost their fathers at 16, one of those lost their stepfather just last year, and I just read yesterday that a dear friend who has never been unkind to anyone and has been hit with tragedy after tragedy in the past 6 or so years (older brother has full-blown AIDS, lost his nephew in a car accident, lost his niece to leukemia) just lost his father this past week. Is it just that they had older parents? Or, is there something that makes me extraordinarily lucky to have young, very healthy family members? I have never lost a close relative and hope not to for a long time to come.

When we got up today and flicked on the news, we immediately heard that Johnny Cash and John Ritter had died. We adore Johnny Cash and though I know it was really wishful thinking for me to believe that Johnny would be here forever, he couldn�t have lasted too long after his dear June passed. When I brought Luke to work today, WORT radio was playing him and Luke made me turn around and go back home so he could wear all black in honor of him. I just know that one of his coworkers is going to be heartbroken; she adores all things Johnny.

Luke arrived home yesterday just as I was posting my last entry. He said that he had tried to call, but that the phone was busy (duh, Tria). He left because he had been sick for most of the morning, so I made him have some yogurt, take some Pepto, and eat some yogurt. I guess my prescription did the trick because, by three, he was full of vim and vigor, completely opposed to marching back to the salt mines.

We went to Andy�s last night and, well, it was a very bad idea. Yes, we got free dinner out of it, but it really wasn�t worth Andy being a big, whiny brat all night. It seemed as though there wasn�t a single thing he cold be positive about. I should have known when we walked in the door and he was sitting there working on schoolwork that it was not going to be a good night. It got worse when, 10 minutes after sending said schoolwork to his group-mates through email, he was checking it again. Then, when we went to dinner, he forgot his cell phone, making him paranoid, and upon arriving home and realizing that he had neither email nor voicemail, he really started to lose it and we decided to leave. I get so fucking irritated with him sometimes and I would really, at this point, like to just take an extended Andy break.

I�m just glad that Luke and I were getting along last night. Sex was so much better than usual and he took ample time on getting me into happy mode. I didn�t have the easiest time sleeping, but at least I had a kitty on my pillow to pat. At 1:30ish, Luke had long been asleep when he started wiggling a lot and it was a wiggling consistent only with scratching or other repetitive, rapid movements, so I asked him what was up, not knowing if he was asleep or not at the time. He responded with, �phlegm� and, thinking that I had misheard him, asked him to repeat himself when he said �phlegm� again. I was confused and just let it be, but this morning when I asked him what had transpired, he said he had no recollection and must have been completely out. I am still perplexed as to what may have been going down.

Luke is going to be asking for 4 more DVDs from his coworker today. He took the ten from my wallet (I have a five left; yippee!) and the list that I composed earlier this week, so by Monday, I should have a bunch of new stuff to watch.

Oh, back to Andy for a second: Luke is working on getting him a date with crazy, fucked up chaotic coworker girl for whom he has had the hots for months. I guess Luke and she were talking last weekend and she casually mentioned �that friend [he�s] been trying to hook [her] up with�. Andy�s been talking about the whole thing ever since we mentioned that we have a plan in the works. He says that he�s incapable of talking to girls he likes, but that�s completely untrue, as he�s spent tons of times with completely chaotic women in whose pants he was desperate to be but always lucked out because, well, he�s no ladies� man.

diarist.net