Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 10:56 am on 03.17.04

Why do I keep volunteering to take the hours of people who can't come in for whatever reason? Oh, yeah, the money. So, because I am crazy and want more cash to throw around, I offered to work full days on both Thursday and Friday, figuring it'd be better than sitting around the house all day. I also offered to work next Thursday so that the owner with the small child wouldn't have to close. At least I'm getting paid for 70 hours on Friday. That, and working so much will pass the time between now and The Darkness.

The death warrants for Cubby and Ellie have been printed, sealed, and posted. Now, I'm just waiting for the damn things to arrive so that the carnage can begin.

Our automobile is fixed. Luke went on Monday and got the spark plug wires replaced for about half the original estimate. That's what happens when you shop around, folks. I feel a lot better about driving it and knowing that it will accelerate at least a little bit. Of course, there is the whole issue of wondering whether this piece will take us all the way to New England when the time comes.

I am absurdly tired today, though, hence the scattered nature of this entry. After work last night, Luke and I played Trivial Pursuit with my manager and her husband. We won and left soon after because it was getting late and Luke had to be to work at 8 this morning. We didn't get to bed until 12:30 and we woke up to find that it was snowing. So, because I had to work, I accompanied Luke on the drive starting at 7:15. What ordinarily takes 35 or fewer minutes took an hour and 15. So, I missed out on that much more sleep this morning and have to work until 9 tonight.

And snow! What the hell? This stuff is supposed to be over by now. Though, I suppose we've been walloped at least once every year I've been here after snow was thought to have been an impossibility.

diarist.net