Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to The Darkness' Permission to Land||Reading Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books by Francesca Lia Block||

@ 5:16 pm on 02.21.04

It turns out that Luke really wasn�t feeling so hot Thursday when he called in, so that helped to assuage my irk. I worked again yesterday and actually got a $3 tip! One woman was buying a ton of lace weight on the condition that we would wind it into balls for her. So, it took three of us close to two hours to do it all, but she made a hefty purchase and gave us the change, so it was well worth it.

I spent the evening hanging out with Andy and managed to get birthday cards for my family while I brought Luke some dinner. I got to see Andy�s office for the first time and it was nothing like I expected it to be. My experience with tech companies has always involved sleek office buildings with cube farms and offices inside. Andy works in an old factory building next to a fair trade coffee roasting place and a couple of art galleries. He shares a massive room with two other programmers. The only thing sleek about it is the desks, chairs, and computer equipment. Of course, this is a fairly small tech company and all of my prior experience has been with giants such as Lycos and NewsEdge.

I�ve been making myself some really good chicken salad with the remains of the chicken I roasted Tuesday. It�s so yummy that it doesn�t even require a bread accompaniment. I hate it when people get all fancy with the comfort that chicken salad is supposed to be. I don�t want walnuts or raisins or onions or pickles in it. I just want some diced celery, black pepper, and mayo in with my chicken, thanks. I don�t mind it if there�s some curry powder tossed in to give it a bit of a different feeling, but that�s as far as it goes with me. I was spoiled this week, though, what with having that fresh bread on hand. I had my lunch on Sara Lee crap today and it really wasn�t nearly as good. Homemade chicken salad on fresh bread is like an orgasm sandwich, I tell you. I also have leftover pasta and sausage for dinner tonight, so I plan on curling up to watch Buffy with a ginormous bowl of pasta complete with a little mountain of freshly grated Romano cheese on top in front of me.

I�ve given Luke the go-ahead to drop to part-time. If he�s so miserable and there�s a chance for him to grab some hours at my work, then I want him to do what will make him happy. I got my first major paycheck Thursday night and I was pleased. It wasn�t huge or anything, but it was more money than I have actually earned in a long time, so I had a major sense of accomplishment. I rewarded myself with a year�s worth of Gold account shininess. Sadly, we couldn�t open a saving account this week because we had some issues in the cash flow department over all, but in two weeks, it�ll happen.

I also talked to Luke about money management issues and have told him to get some cash every week when he deposits his check and to only use cash while he�s at work. Gas, groceries, and major stuff should go on the card. I use the cash-only approach and it works. You know how much you have at all times and can�t go over, so it limits what you would ordinarily shell out. Plus, it helps the bank account to stay in the black.

I�m actually a little peeved with the old mothership (uh, diaryland) at the moment. Upon purchasing a year�s worth, you�re entitled to 10,000 banners and, well, it says I can�t use it yet. What the hell? I have two kick ass banners that I want the world to see and I can�t use them! I just shelled out a bunch of dough and I want what�s supposed to be coming to me, damnit! I repeat, Damnit!

diarist.net