Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to The Darkness' Permission to Land||Reading Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Books by Francesca Lia Block||

@ 11:36 am on 02.18.04

Everything last night was wonderful save for having to hear E proclaim loudly and proudly that she hates Jews and the fact that I had a very hard time sleeping.

Dinner was fantastic, pan licking tasty, even, and my first attempt at roasting any sort of vegetable other than a pepper went over wonderfully. Luke held up his end of our bargain and spent the entire evening cuddling with me in bed. Now, had I been able to sleep well and not had to see E, the whole night would have been perfect.

Now, I don�t know how someone can simply say that they hate an entire ethnic group. Do bigots not realize that groups are made up of very distinct individuals? Or, do they just think that everyone is exactly the same? To counteract this little pocket of hatred within the house, I sat reading Heeb while I was eating my dinner and contemplated buying a shirt from them. I think that even C was embarrassed by her, as he said, �She does not represent me� immediately following. Ugh. This just reinforces how much she needs to not be here. I don�t think I�ve ever heard anyone just say that they hate entire groups of people in front of me. Yes, members of the older generations of Luke�s family still use epithets, and though it pains me to hear it, I can�t make them change. They don�t necessarily harbor animosity for the groups about which they speak, it just seems that such is the way they learned to refer to them and refuse to learn better. But, E, being a member of my generation, though nearly half a decade younger, should be more aware of things. I throw up my hands.

Now, I know that I had a hard time sleeping because I fell asleep at about 4 yesterday afternoon and woke somewhere in the 5:30/6:00 range. This tends to happen to me on Tuesdays alone. I don�t know what it is, but I�ll be sitting there watching something on TV and the next I�ll be waking up completely bewildered, wondering where the last huge chunk of time went. I usually don�t have a hard time getting to sleep that night, but I took it too far yesterday, sleeping for longer than was really decent and necessary. So, I tossed and turned for most of the night. I seem to be doing okay today, though, with plans for dinner making and stock making between now and when Luke gets home.

diarist.net