Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to The White Stripes' Elephant||Reading A Cook's Tour by Anthony Bourdain||Knitting: grey cardigan sweater for me

@ 12:20 pm on 01.27.04

So, I got an apology from the twat upstairs, but it was really hackneyed. She was all �Tria, I�m really sorry. I only used it once and then all this shit started happening and I was like, �What the FUCK?!�, so C and I were just having fun, really, writing whatever we could think of.� Idiot. Worst. Apology. Ever. I told her that I just laughed at it, but that she had really pissed Luke off and he is one of the last people on Earth (other than my dad) that you never want to make angry because he will pull out your spleen without even touching you.

I am wearing the Hello Kitty skivvies (the black ones), though, and my new pink bra and the t-shirt I got yesterday. I look about as cute as is humanly possible, even if Luke and I woke up too late and he may have been tardy for work. At least he has an excuse for it since it�s snowing out and the roads are probably pretty crap. He gets curry for dinner tonight when he gets home, in part because he hates Tuesdays and in part because I made lasagna last night and he really hates it. We had Andy over so that we can sort of make up for all the dinners he buys for us.

We both had the hardest time getting to sleep last night. We had some monkey time and then went to bed, but it was more than an hour before either of us managed to fall asleep. It was too warm and I ended up waking several times in the night covered in a thin layer of sweat. Eccch. But, like I said, I am ca-ewt today, so it makes up for it.

Now I have to wile away the hours until Luke gets home and I can cuddle with him. I�m so not shoveling the driveway, back walk, and sidewalk today. Nuh-uh. No note means no shoveling and I�m certainly not going out of my way to not be thanked again. I actually think I sort of snubbed M last night, not entirely by accident. I was making dinner for Luke, Andy, and myself when she got home and I said, �I just have to do one more thing and then I�ll be out of your way.� She then said, �I�m not in here since you�re cooking tonight.� Luke had to then correct her and say it was just for Andy and me and that I would be freezing the remainder for dinners when he is working. She keeps telling me to have whatever she�s made, but I don�t have the heart to tell her that most of her cooking leads to unpleasant gastrointestinal events and I�m not really open to such things on a near nightly basis.

Oh, also, I should warn the entire planet. If ever you should come across M and have occasion to speak to her, be knowledgeable of the fact that she epitomizes the need to take what comes out of her mouth with a grain of salt. Two nights in a row now, she�s bitched about something to do with the fact that there are six people living here. The first was when we were talking about Jim and how he has nowhere to stay and she said, �He can�t stay here! I already have a house full of people who don�t pay me.� Okay, we offered to pay her and she declined, so that complaint goes out the window. Also, for a woman who claims to be so destitute, uh, why would she have bought a $230 Kitchen-Aid mixer without a second thought? Then, last night she comes out of the bathroom after totally jumping into the shower just as we came up the stairs, knowing full well our intentions to do the same, asking if we washed whites (we had, but I don�t use hot water on my laundry � ever) because there was no hot water. I explained my laundry thing and refused to think that possibly one of the people to have previously showered (either C or E) has been taking all too hot showers, saying, �That water heater just isn�t built for six people to shower every day.� So, Luke and I decide to take a stab at it. We get in and it�s fucking fine. No, there wasn�t sufficient hot water for me to have to turn the cold water on, but, uh, the whole time I was in there, the temperature never even began to decline on me, lasting right through shampooing, conditioning, the shaving of armpits, crotch, and legs, the washing of my body, and the washing of my face. I had to wonder if she was just mightily exaggerating or if I had appeased the hot water heater gods in some unknown fashion.

I could not be sicker of this woman�s bitterness and callousness. If she doesn�t like having people in her house, she should quit telling them to come on over. She should also just shut her gaping yap. We buy most of our own food, use little water and electricity (we shower together for chrissakes!), and it�s not like we�re getting ringside seats to watch them sleep and go about their business day in and day out. We spend most of our time downstairs, both to maintain our own sanity and to keep out of their hair. If it weren�t for the days when the car is here, she would hardly even know we were home. As a matter of fact, she intrudes on us a lot more than we do on them. The other morning we woke up, laid around for a bit, and then had sex. Immediately after we were finished, while he was still inside me, she comes knocking asking if we have any fucking rosemary (no). There was no sound coming from our room, leading passersby to believe that we were asleep, so did she think it was appropriate to just wake us up to ask a retarded question like that? I actually asked Luke to request that she not disturb us when we�re sleeping. If there�s a fire, go right ahead, but if all you want is some fucking rosemary, look around, and if you don�t find it, go buy some. I guess it went over all right, even if Luke was entirely inappropriate and phrased it wrong, asking if she could not barge in while he was nailing his girlfriend, or something equally disgusting. I often wish he would have more couth.

diarist.net