Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Tori Amos' Little Earthquakes||Thinking I hate wrapping gifts.||

@ 11:56 am on 12.23.03

We had a nice weekend together, but it was busy, so I don�t feel like I usually do afterwards. Sunday was laundry, then Andy�s for dinner and a movie, then to a bar to meet with coworker Joni. Yesterday was grocery shopping for Xmas Eve, gift getting for G (a cool case for his vinyl) & E (even though the pair of them got me nothing), getting sized and looking at prospective rings, going to Andy�s, and a party for another of Luke�s coworkers.

We did get to have sex a lovely 5 times, though. I really like that we�ve gotten back into having sex as often as possible. I missed it so much when our drives were out of sync and it made me miserable.

The ring thing was on a complete whim. We had time to kill before heading to Andy�s, so we were sitting there on State St. nibbling on a warm pretzel and drinking our yummy chai beverages when I noticed that we were smack in front of a jewelry shop. So, we went in and asked to be fitted. I�m a 7, he�s a 7 �. We also looked through the catalog and found that we can order rings for cheaper than we would online. Plus, they would be exactly what we want them to be, so we get to pick our individual ring types and what they will say. Neither of us knows what we want, but I thought that it would be really cool to pick a quotation or something and have each ring engraved with half of it, so that the whole message could only be read when we were together. We also get to choose the typeface, so they will be completely customized and mean that much more to us. We plan on getting them the week that Luke�s on vacation, so I have something post Xmas to look forward to.

The party last night was a little awkward at first, especially given that we three showed up late and we were also the youngest there by at least 15 years (that�s a very low estimate, too). It was doubly odd for me because a former coworker of mine was there and that bit wasn�t aired until a few hours in. He kept looking at me in the way that says, �I know you from somewhere, so say it before I freak out�. Luke finally broke it when he asked about how one of my former clients was doing. Apparently, he�s doing wonderfully, which is great news considering that his condition is such that when it progresses past a certain point, it will shut down his entire nervous system and he will die. 4 years ago, he wasn�t expected to make it through the year, but he�s still going strong, so it pleases me to no end. I did learn, though, that another client died fairly recently. She had a seizure in bed and she stopped breathing. Her home staff didn�t even know until morning.

I also learned that the reason why I left (the program director) has taken her leave and my favorite case manager has taken her place. I can�t say that I would take a job there again were it offered me, but at least it�s something. I also was informed, almost begged and pleaded with, to reapply at B&N. One of our knitting circle members was present last night and she told us of vacancies that will be opening up, so she told me again and again to apply and use her and other knitting circle members as references. It�s nice to know that there are people who like me enough to work with me. Luke, I think, would be delighted as well. He really wants out of magazines and back into fiction, so were they to hire me, he could train me in magazines and move to one of the other open lead positions. Russian Rita is the only other person gunning for it right now and training her would be a Sisyphean task. I guess that she�s only at B&N because they feel badly for her, so they made a position up for her. She dusts. That�s it. She dusts. Oh, and she pesters Luke a lot. My poor dear.

I have to wrap some gifts today, but the one non-ring gift I got for Luke has already been given, so that�s one less thing. When I ordered it, I wasn�t sure if it would get here in time because they only ship on Tuesday and Thursday or Friday, so I told him about it. It came yesterday and I gave it to him, saying that he can wear it on Xmas day. It�s too cute for words, this shirt. I already informed him that I would be stealing it from time to time.

We got stuff for tomorrow night�s dinner. I�m making salad, shrimp cocktail, Pesto Alfredo with shrimp, and we�re having lovely fresh (not made by me) bread. We were going to make Tiramisu, but not all ingredients were available at the second grocery store, so we threw that idea out. We had to go to two stores because, while one is cheap, they have really horrific produce and meat. The good store has those things in spades but they�re terribly expensive. The same pesto at the cheap store is $3.29, while it�s $5.99 at the other place. Shocking, really.

Oh, and:

Dear Santa,

I have been a very good girl this year where it matters (you have no business checking in on my bedroom activities, sir) and even if you only bring sufficient monies to get one I will be happy. I would love a spiffy new video card; as good as you can get me that runs Direct3D because OpenGL is no longer supported in a lot of things.

I�m very tired of the screen freezing and having to force restart my sexy computer box when the current card crashes, something I�ve had to do twice already in less than two hours.

Love,

Disco

(PS- I�ll leave out some of the Russian chocolates we got from last night�s party. They�re tasty, I swear.)

diarist.net