Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

listening to Ours - Fallen Souls||Thinking lonesome thoughts||# of days to 23: 9

@ 5:10 pm on 11.28.03

The day of turkey went as well as could be expected, I suppose. The food was decent, the company was not abominable, and I only cried for a tiny little bit after talking to my family. I thought I would be fine, up until I hung the phone up. Then, it was like I couldn�t stop it. Because I was wearing eye makeup (a rarity for me, I tell you), I kept dabbing at my tear ducts with the corner of a tissue until Luke asked me if I was okay; then I broke. I think that it was my stepmom calling me sweetie when she got on the phone that did it. She�s the only mother worth a damn that I�ve got and it�s so hard to have to miss that.

If you�ve ever considered running 1100 miles away from your family, I warn you: Don�t do it! Especially if you�re close with them. All of the things you took for granted before will leave a massive hole in you that just won�t be filled.

I shopped today in a very unDiscolike way to make up for it. Not a lot, but enough to ease the pain a little bit. I got a sexy white bra and an adorable pair of new boy shorts to match a bra I bought when I last skivvy shopped. I also stocked up on blush and powder foundation, but that�s just because I needed it.

The more I miss my family, the more I appreciate Luke�s presence. He�s always supportive, doesn�t ask questions, and just opens his arms to absorb me when I go puddly. He holds me for as long as I cry and then longer to make sure that I�ll be okay. He�s not home right now and I kind of need him�it�s hit me again, the missing.

It�s been snowing off and on for as long as I�ve been up. It�s just a dusting so far, but it�s the first real snow of any substance. I don�t think it really counts unless some sticks. I�m a little anxious about the driving later tonight when I go to get Luke, but I�m sure I�ll be fine. Plus, I�m leaving early in the hopes that he won�t have to wait � an hour for me and I can just knit in the parking lot until he�s released.

The cat went all nutsoid last night because the neighbor�s left on their porch light, so it shone into our bedroom the whole time. He woke me starting at 2:30 thinking it was 5:30, let me go back to sleep, then woke me again at 4, so I missed a chunk of sleep between 4 and 5 because he was a freak. I slept until 11:30 consequently and then had sex, so that helped to mitigate Mr. Cat�s ugly behavior.

diarist.net