Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Hem Rabbit Songs||Not thinking much of anything||# of days to 23: 40

@ 2:36 pm on 10.28.03

I was pretty grumpy this morning when I woke up, but now, several hours, some yoga, and a full belly later, I am feeling much improved. The reason for my grumpiness was that I was awake on and off between 8 and 10 this morning, finally giving up at 10 and I found out that Luke had been in a similar situation. So, we�re lying there with � an hour to kill, and what better to do to start the day off right than have some sex? No such luck. Luke just lay there like a slug until I was about time for the alarm to go off, while I got fed up and into my pajamas to spend time with the cat. I�ve been the forward one a lot lately and it would have been nice to put the early morning moves on me, but it�s not like I can say that to him and then expect something to happen, so I just didn�t say anything, choosing to get up instead.

The weekend, as indicated by my last entry was mediocre at best. Sunday during the day was enjoyable at M&G�s, but waiting for someone at the airport for an hour only to have him or her be a no-show really sucks. It blows twofold when you think that you could have spent more time with M&G, seen Joel, and gotten free dinner out of it, but no, you were sitting in the saddest airport in the country waiting for a friend whom you�ve had damned near enough of to begin with. As a reward for our waiting, we ordered in and just relaxed around the house.

Yesterday was okay, I suppose. We woke up when Andy called at 8, went to the airport, picked him up, drove him home, came home and went back to bed until noon. Andy had said when we got him that he�d take us to Dotty�s for dinner to say thanks, so we bummed around the house all day, had a brunch of scrambled eggs, bacon, and toast, and waited for him to call. So, Andy called, we went over there, and headed out with Dotty�s as our destination. We get downtown and find that fucking Shania Twain is playing at the Kohl Center and the streets are full of pedestrian rednecks and rednecks driving SUVs. Andy, who isn�t a very good driver to begin with, freaks out when we try to tell him where to go, and decides, in his obsession with the west side of town that we�re not doing Dotty�s after all, even though we�ve now spent � an hour driving around the downtown area and he�s going to drive all the fucking way across town so that we can go to one of the many shit chains that he so loves. Luke, a quick on his feet thinker, suggests we go to one of the places in the area we�ve never been before and we settle upon a brewpub that has previously come highly recommended by Muppet.

While dining (tasty chili, sort of sub par chicken parm sandwich, and very excellent fries), Andy talks about how downloading music is wrong but downloading software is A.O.K, even though we try to explain that the aim of record companies is to make money for themselves, not for the people they represent and that artists make their real money from touring, not making records. Then, on the drive back to his place, he talks about how he�s only got a little while left to get over Liz, even though the � rule is ridiculous especially considering that he a.) Got his information about the � rule from Sex and the City and b.) His relationship was never a real relationship at all. Every time he complains lately, I find myself visualizing very violent things happening to him, usually involving the smashing of his head into a concrete wall or something equally nasty. Thankfully, he got sleepy quite fast and we got the hell out of there.

On the way home, we stopped at Selective Video, one of the creepier purveyors of adult material and smoke accessories, so that Luke could grab a copy of American Grizzly for his coworker. (Now, this periodical wasn�t because coworker is gay, but because Luke was going to be goofing around with him as a get-well gift. Coworker, henceforth known as Greg, blacked out at work on Friday and had to be rushed to the emergency room. Greg has a genetic heart condition that causes thickening of the heart walls and has to be really careful. He�s actually planning on having surgery at the Mayo clinic sometime in the next year. Greg and Luke are very close, as close as coworkers who don�t hang out outside work can be, I suppose, and both Luke and I were naturally quite concerned.) We walk in; Luke goes up to the counter and asks Clerk #1 if they carry it. Clerk #1 has a rotting tooth front and center and is about to light a cigarette. Clerk #1 asks, �You mean the bear magazine?� and I double over laughing, as if it could be anything else. Luke says yes and C1 goes on to say that he thinks it to be out of print and that if he wanted a copy one would have to �get it from some jackass on Ebay.� We walk out giggling and arrive home empty handed.

Now, today, when Luke gets home, I plan on having dinner ready, the laundry folded and put away, and being in the middle of watching Gilmore Girls. I�m still not in the greatest of moods, but I�m sure that it�s either the pill week I�m in or SAD is kicking in a little bit. It kind of sucks that it gets dark starting at 4:30 these days. While I do love long, dark nights, long, dark nights accompanied by dark, cloudy days really tends to bunch my knickers. Thankfully, I have yoga to chill me out and a very cuddly kitty to keep me warm.

diarist.net