Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 5:02 pm on 09.04.03

Growing up, things always dramatically slowed down once Labor Day was passed, but I always attributed that to our being a tourist area and even the richest of tourists� children need to go back to school. Here, though, I�ve noticed the same thing. Everything is quieter, not just in terms of noise, but in terms of movement. Thanks to school�s start, the neighbor kids don�t start hollering until well after three o�clock, the landscapers have seemingly given up mowing on Monday mornings, and the temperatures have mellowed beyond my best hopes after last week�s 90s. As a result of all this, Luke and I seem to be going to bed earlier. I do wish that I weren�t noticing this slowing so acutely; I�d much rather have a job and be helping to bring in money than sit here day after day.

As for the job market, it�s just as bleak as usual. I combed the papers today and found nothing of even the remotest interest. I�ve not heard back from the woman who interviewed me last week, so I don�t know what is going on there. I would call, but I don�t know which location she�s at and I don�t like being rejected over the phone. I think I�d far rather hear nothing as my rejection than being dismissed over the phone.

Luke got home far earlier than I expected him to yesterday. Ordinarily, he doesn�t get home before 6 because traffic is such a nightmare during rush hour, but he was home at 5:45ish and he had even gone to the grocery store before coming home. When I was so surprised at his early arrival, he said that he had found a new, quicker route home. We had a pretty slow night last night and spent it mostly playing Age of Empires 2. We showered late, but went to bed about � an hour earlier than normal. I don�t know why we were each so tired, but I know I was out by 12:15. I wasn�t plagued by any more nightmares, so I slept soundly, if a little coldly since Luke kind of stole the blankets for most of the night.

I have been really mellow lately and nothing really seems to bother me. Sure, I was irked when I discovered that even after putting it through the wash, the stuff that Luke spilled on my favorite t-shirt had left a stain, but I wasn�t completely bent out of shape by it. Luke seemed to think that I was at the time, but I think he was exaggerating. He knows what it�s like when I am truly angry. I think that the weather has a lot to do with my calmness. Fall and winter are my favorite seasons and knowing that the heat and humidity are over helps to ease my irritability quite a bit. It�s also a lot easier to pay the bills in these months because the complex pays for our heat, while a/c is our responsibility. I am pretty surprised at myself, though. It�s not like there haven�t been things that I could get aggravated about; it�s just that I have been looking over them and not letting them bother me which is a feat in itself considering that this is the week when I would be getting a period were I to actually take my placebos. Sadly, skipping placebos doesn�t stop the PMS symptoms, but this time around it just seems different. Sure, my back has been hurting and I�ve had a couple of headaches lately, but that�s par for the PMS course. I mean I�m usually a pretty cranky person and have a hard time dealing with the idiocy I witness around me, but I think I may be moving into another, calmer period of my life. I suppose time will tell on that front, as all of it could go to shit tomorrow.

Let me know if the new template is up to snuff. The paws to the left are navigation buttons, just in case you haven�t hovered over them and seen the Alt tags. If there�s anything you�d like to see, tell me. Feedback is a good thing.

diarist.net