Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 3:09 pm on 08.21.03

Apparently, the culinary arts teacher from my high school has been charged with stealing roughly $30,000 worth of equipment and cold hard cash from the school. I have been reading the Vineyard�s local paper on a weekly basis for some time now; looking at who has committed crimes, who�s engaged, married, or spitting out children, and who is and is not graduating from college. It helps me to stay connected to the place I considered to be home for so many years. It still is in a lot of ways. I know that island like I know my own body.

Last night was more than boring. We had a nice dinner of roasted chicken, peas, and mashed potatoes and halfheartedly watched television in air conditioned comfort. After we showered, we spent the next couple of hours talking in bed and cuddling intermittently. I was more than a little disappointed when he rolled over and decided to go to sleep. I had been hoping for a repeat of the night before, but that was not to be. As soon as he said that he was going to sleep, I felt quite put out and told him so. When he said less than five minutes later that he was no longer tired and wanted to go for it, I declined, thinking that he was only saying he was interested because of guilt. He disagreed with this, but there was no going back. For me, once it�s gone, it�s gone, and I�d much rather just drop the subject and go to bed myself than drag it out into some discussion about why I don�t want to anymore.

The cat was better behaved last night than he was the previous evening, so there was far less water used. Today, he�s just sleepy and wanting to cuddle a lot. I don�t know how many times I�ve had to kick him off my lap because I was getting up to do something.

I was fortunate enough not to be woken with a start by Luke�s alarm clock. He awoke five minutes early and switched it off so that I wouldn�t be frightened. Sadly, I had a very strange dream after he had gone, right before I woke for the day involving something that may or may not be recurrent. It involved an older man being very distraught and killing himself in an empty room inside some sort of factory because he missed his recently late wife. He was carving things into the floor and carving at himself at the same time, saying that he was trying to eat himself. I think that may be the recurrent part because I can clearly recall having previously witnessed the suicide before. The second part involved Luke and I visiting the factory at some point afterward and I kept telling Luke not to look at nor read what was carved into the flesh-like floor, the words like razor cuts in skin and oozing something like blood. I seem to have been beyond traumatized by what had taken place in the room and knew exactly what the floor said, right down to the design within which the words were written.

We got some pretty cool lightning during the evening hours. We had been under a watch since fairly early in the afternoon and I was really looking forward to it. The storm itself was pretty far away, so I felt safe standing out on the balcony to watch it. Some streaks snaked across the sky connecting with other steaks to form something out of a horror movie while others materialized in a burst of light and shot straight into the ground in some distant locale. We didn�t pick up much rain; the news said we got something like 0.02� total, so it did little for the farmers, but at least it was rain. The heat is supposed to dissipate this evening and we�ll be able to open the windows and sleep without the a/c. Yesterday it was just out of the question, having been 94 during the day with a heat index of 104. Luke came home all red and sweaty looking after having only been in the car for a little bit. He immediately changed out of his work stuff and into a t-shirt and shorts. I was glad that I didn�t have to leave the house for anything during the day. I had opened the slider and poked my head out for a couple of moments, but decided that stepping out and closing the slider was out of the question. It was just too hot. I guess that one of the local power companies broke a record for the amount of energy used in a single day. It�s supposed to be much nicer over the next week. No rain predicted, but at least we won�t be running up the electric bill just to stay comfortable.

diarist.net