Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 1:20 pm on 08.14.03

Luke brought me American Gods last night and I dove right in, reading straight through most of the nightly news and Dave. I so love getting books to read. I still haven�t finished Slayer Slang, but I plan to in the near future. It�s so heavy on technicality that I need a break in between stints. It�s not that I�m not interested in it; it�s just that I need to cleanse my palate so that I can go back to it refreshed and ready to take more in.

I just realized that in a mere 13 days, I will be largely C free for as long into the future as I can see. He moves into his dorm 4 hours away on the 27th and I won�t have to see him until he has breaks. I�m hoping that he won�t come home for the weekends. I know that he�s going to be desperately lonely for at least a couple of months, but a person like him deserves it. I think he needs to be lonely for a while in order to learn that once you get to college, there are few people that will tolerate an undeservingly cocky little boy from a shitty little town who has never done anything of note with his life and has earned no kudos.

Dinner last night was really tasty. The only bad part was that traffic was horrendous on Luke�s way home, so it took him 45 minutes to drive 6 miles. I had finished making dinner about 5 minutes before he returned, so I had to cover everything up with foil and pot lids because I didn�t know how long he would be. That seems to be the only problem with roasting things; you have to put it in way ahead of when it�s supposed to be eaten, so if everyone isn�t present when it comes out of the oven, it can really throw off the schedule. I know it seems ridiculous to be roasting things when it�s 85 degrees out, but it really wasn�t that bad. I did burn my right arm a little bit when I was putting the hen in, but it�s not bad. At the time it happened, I didn�t think it would leave a mark or anything, so I sloshed it under some cold water for a second and went about my business. It wasn�t until I was going about my business 10 minutes later that I recognized that sting that is so specific to burns.

I just decided that since it�s supposed to get so hot today, I should turn on the air conditioning. When Luke got home last night, he immediately changed into shorts, so that�s a definite signal that maybe I should have the air on. There were times when I would get a little warm yesterday, but I guess since I was in the kitchen so much, I thought it was just because of that. I didn�t even notice how hot it was outside. It�s supposed to be hotter and more humid today and I am definitely taking notice, especially since I had such a hard time getting back to sleep this morning.

I�m starting to think that unless there is something of note, the local evening news shouldn�t even be on. So far, I have heard the same report about a guy who drove by an unmarked construction site and got wet concrete on his truck. He now wants the county to pay for it and they�re telling him it�s not their fault. Why would anybody but the guy in question even care about such a thing? Does it really warrant broadcasting three times?

I�ve been on a real neat freak kick ever since we got those chairs from M�s friend, B. I find myself constantly straightening and being extremely vigilant about having an empty sink in the kitchen. I think it has something to do with the fact that everything is so clean and neat and I just want to keep it that way for as long as possible. Of course, I find myself being the only one who bothers to try and maintain it. Last night after dinner, even though I was busy doing something else, I kept going into the kitchen and putting away/washing things from the meal even though it�s supposed to be Luke�s job. When I did all I could stand to do, having spent a total of seven or so hours in and out of the kitchen, I said, �I took care of most of it, but the rest is yours to do.� He thanked me for making it easier for him, he having had such a tiring day, and I appreciated both the thanks and the fact that he got right up and finished the work, but I wish that he would realize that I had worked just as hard as he had and that he should have been the one to take care of all the cleaning.

diarist.net