Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 9:48 pm on 06.27.03

I spent three whole hours working on that freaking pasta salad, and I still have more work to do on it tomorrow. I have to dress it then because I don�t want everything to get all mucky, letting the pasta absorb more liquid and staining the fresh mozzarella. I suppose I�m not anxious about it now that it�s largely done. The dressing is good, the various ingredients are all fresh, and there�s really nothing to worry about. Fortunately, between all the cooking and the reading done afterwards I�ve not had time to experience the usual ether-sucking boredom that I usually do. On the other hand, despite my best efforts at cleaning up as I went along, the kitchen is a mess and I am not desirous of looking at that room unless I have to and I don�t qualify cleaning as a have-to sort of thing right now.

I keep hearing some mentally deficient waste of oxygen and flesh setting off fireworks somewhere outside. It seems as if every time I sit back down from trying to find the source another one immediately goes off. The only thing mitigating my barely contained rage is the fact that I have just seen my first lightning bug of the year flitting about among the towering evergreens directly on either side of my apartment building.

I am so lucky to have such a wonderful boyfriend. He gave me permission to order out after spending so much time in the kitchen. Between making the salad and making his dinner, I really wasn�t in any mood to cook for myself and I�d eaten nothing but a solitary bowl of cereal and a few pieces if rotini all day. I ask if I can do these things because it�s only fair to him. He brings in the money and, by rights, it�s his, so I always do the courteous thing and clear it before making unnecessary purchases. He doesn�t require me to, as I would rather quickly be rid of him were he so controlling.

As tomorrow looms closer, I think the only thing I�m really looking forward to is a jump or eighty in the moon room and getting to spend the day with Luke. I don�t really want to spend it in the hot sun, getting bitten by mosquitoes, and dealing with drunk 18 year olds. I�ll get to hang with Grandma and Papa, as well as with J, R, and their kids, but those two children can be more than remotely snotty sometimes. I�m sad that Luke�s favorite uncle won�t be able to attend. He called last weekend while we were there and gave his regrets. I really wanted to see how his little ones are coming along. The eldest one isn�t his by blood, but he cares for him as his own, going so far as to have given him his last name, and the younger one is just an adorable smiley little tank of a boy. It�s strange, though, that he has some form of disorder that deadens pain. He can walk into a wall going at top speed and merely look confused once it�s over. G accidentally clocked him with a flashlight at the last family gathering and all he did was look up and move on. I guess he�s also sort of clumsy.

Luke and I had an argument of sorts last night. I don�t know if it was an argument per se, but I was miffed at him for spending the better part of four hours straight on the computer, letting me fall by the wayside. It irritates me when he does this and he tries to turn it around on me by saying that my spending an hour or less on the computer every day while he�s home is worse than him spending a four hour stint once or twice a month, combined with his own extensive at home use of the box. I don�t think so. I make it a point to only do what I usually do, without dawdling, when he�s at home. I put our time together at a premium, especially given our talk last weekend about how we don�t spend sufficient time with one another. Despite having gone to bed still irked, I made it a point to tell him I loved him and say goodnight before he went to sleep.

Much to my chagrin, I woke up shortly after 9 this morning and found myself completely unable tog et back to sleep, so I got up, fed the cat, put on my pajamas and went around to Luke�s side of the bed in an attempt to grab Harry Potter. As luck would have it, as I was bending, crouched low to the ground, my back decided to give one very intense jolt of pain and I couldn�t help but gasp. I hoped that Luke would remain asleep, as I hate waking him up, but that was not to be. He opened his eyes, said hi very groggily, and then asked me if I�d stay in the room with him. I agreed and said I�d be right back. I grabbed my discman and a CD I could stand to listen to more than once, and went back to lie down. It was there I stayed for the next two hours, reading while Luke slept beside me.

I hollered at Luke earlier today for telling me about something that happens later on in the book. It was a minor detail, but I had to say, �What the hell? I�m reading it and I want to find these things out on my own.� He knows I�m reading it and detest spoilers, so why would he tell me such a thing? I know he thinks it�s a trivial thing, but I think he will refrain from telling me such things from now on. I mean, we were so excited for this book for so long; I don�t want anyone coming along and ruining it for me. Despite having recently heard that prior to the book�s release there were major spoilers leaked all over the internet, I never came across one and not a one of the myriad websites I visit has said anything about the books, other than that the owner of the site is either reading it or has plans to do so.

Well, this may be my last entry until Tuesday since Luke has a three-day weekend and I don�t tend to update when he�s at home. So, if I write, it will most likely be either very brief or something momentous will have happened to make me either giddy or seething.

diarist.net