Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 2:50 pm on 06.25.03

Today is much better than yesterday was. I have yet to receive any bad news and I look adorable, at least in my estimation. I don�t have any kind of explanation for the turnaround in feelings, but I know that I just feel better. Granted, a night full of sleep may have something to do with it. I didn�t sleep well at all Monday and I�m sure that contributed to the doldrums I was in yesterday. I also suspect that Luke�s kind words helped immensely. He�s such a good boy. I decided not to worry about the speed thing. I gave it more thought and it�s not a big deal at all. He�s smarter now and would never do something that he knows would make me mad.

I am a total spoilsport when it comes to new products in the house, particularly if they are of the bath and body persuasion. Last week while grocery shopping I picked up a new bottle of face wash because we were running out and probably wouldn�t get back to the grocery store before that time. So, I keep asking Luke every night if the old stuff is out and he keeps telling me no. Last night he told me that I might want to bring the new bottle in because the old one is sputtering out, so I did and ended up using it, despite that I could have gotten some out of the old bottle. It�s the new L�Or�al stuff (we had a $2 coupon) and I love it. It has what I like to call the Noxzema effect: you put it on and it smells nice, then it makes your face all tingly, and once you�ve rinsed it off, it feels really cool (temperature-wise) for the next 10 minutes.

We�re supposed to get hammered this evening with severe weather of various types. It�ll cool it down from our current 90-something and very humid to lower 70s by tomorrow afternoon. I couldn�t be happier, either. It�s been so hot the past couple of days that we�ve both been sleeping with little to no covers despite having the air conditioning on and I�ve been wearing skirts in public. Shorts are out of the question, but it seems that skirts have wormed their way into my rotation. I haven�t worn skirts on a regular basis since I was little and I�m discovering that I can be a lot cuter in them than I thought. I look absolutely adorable today if I do say so myself. It�s the first time that I�ve managed to work that super cute beret wearing kitty bobby pin that I found in the Woodman�s parking lot into my hair agenda. They designed it all wrong with the top of the cat�s head facing away from the two-prong end. The head would ideally face the end or perpendicular to it to allow for hair to be swept up in it, as opposed to seemingly being pushed away by it. I just tried to take a picture of it, but I can�t get the right amount of light. Neither flash on nor flash off yields decent results. Too bad, too, since it�s really cute and I�m so glad that I had the good fortune to have found it in such good condition.

I got to briefly meet Luke�s coworker Andy. He�s a nice guy. A while back, on a night when Luke had to work in the caf�, he said what time he was going for his dinner break and Andy told him that he couldn�t leave until I went in, met him personally, and tried his signature soft drink, the Frisky Winston (Mr. Pibb with a shot of Irish Cream syrup�bleah). Unfortunately, Luke headed out before I had the chance to meet him there, so I only just now got to meet Andy. Apparently, he is, as Luke termed him, an Actor, complete with the uppercase �a�. He did seem very dramatic, but not in an obnoxious way. He�s just very friendly and gregarious. He�s also not gay. While Luke and I were in the car, we were talking about him as I sipped away on my vanilla cr�me frappuccino when I said that Andy had rakish good looks. Luke told me that he was going to go in and report it to him. Silly little beast.

We had a lovely night last night, in spite of my being so put out. We watched some bad reality television, had dinner, showered, and watched television before I decided that because of the fan configuration (I had to put it outside the bedroom door in order for the air conditioning to adequately cool it) I wanted to sleep with my head at the foot of the bed. This turned into much goofy romping, followed by romping of another variety. Unfortunately, I couldn�t sleep that way after all due to my inability to stick my feet off the end of the bed (it abuts the wall), so we switched again and I drifted off quickly after that.

Luke�s bringing me home Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix tonight, or so he�s said. I am so giddy I can hardly see straight. Everybody I know is reading it and I feel so left out of the mania. I just want to curl up with some music and the book and read until my eyes fall out. On the topic of reading, why is it that British magazines are so much more readable than the American ones? Luke toted home a stripped copy of Q last night and I can actually read the articles! Plus, there is so little sleaze involved that I hardly even notice it! Just when I had lost all hope in being able to ever read a magazine other than BUST and CMJ, Luke brings me Q. There is nothing better than the bliss of renewed faith. So very refreshing.

Now, I must go eat something, since nought but the vanilla cr�me has passed my lips today.

diarist.net