Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 11:59 am on 06.19.03

Groceries have been bought. Lovely, lovely groceries, including a box of Kix for 50 cents. It�s nice to have food in the house, especially since Luke, for the first time in I have no idea how long, cooked dinner last night. Sure, they were burgers, but they were tasty and I didn�t have to do it. It�s also nice to not really have to pick my brain about what I should bring for Luke�s lunch. We have several options readily available and it means that I can just pop something into the microwave or throw together a peanut butter and jelly or tuna sandwich and be gone. I swear I stood there for almost five minutes yesterday as the clock ticked closer to the time I had to leave, fretting about what to feed him.

Last night Luke seemed a little bit down and I ventured to ask him what was the matter. At first, he just said that it�s this Friday night, that he doesn�t want to work until 3:30AM and he�s not looking forward to a very late night filled with screaming children and their impatient parents. Luckily, I knew that that wasn�t the only problem, as he had been on the phone with M earlier in the night and mentioned for the third or fourth time about how his asshat father hadn�t gotten him anything for his birthday because �money [was] tight� due to the purchase of a brand new truck. I�ve known all along that this was bothering him to an extent he wouldn�t admit, so I dragged it out of him and he admitted that, yes, he has been more than a little bummed out about his father being a waste of skin. No matter how strong a front he puts up, I can always see through it and it�s time he learned that. I live with him, see him more than anyone else, and know him to the core. I�d like to think that he knows me the same way, and I know that he does.

The weather is beautiful today. It�s not too hot to sleep or even move without wanting to crawl out of your skin. I�ve wanted this for days and now I have it. All during the intense heat, I had one of my plants outside on the balcony, hoping that it would thrive better out there, but instead it started dropping leaves and turning a very disturbing brown color. It�s always well watered, as it lives in water, not soil, so I don't know what the problem is. I took it in this morning when I got up and realized that it had dropped yet another of its very large leaves, leaving 4 large ones and 4 rather smallish ones. SO, I emptied it of its old water, scraped down the sides because I think that the outside air was having some sort of malevolent reaction to the algae, gave it fresh water, and set it back on its original shelf. I think I may be screwed either way since the reason I put it out was because the cat was finding a way to get at it. We�ll have to see how this new arrangement works out.

I�m pretty sure that there was something getting at me before I sat down to write this, but now it seems to have left me and it may be because of the weather, but I�m in a wonderful mood and nothing is bothering me at all. Funny.

diarist.net