Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 1:57 pm on 05.27.03

It was, and still is, a relaxing weekend. I dropped Luke of this morning with both of us thinking that he had to work a normal week, so I went to the bank, got gas, and walked in the door to find the phone ringing. It was Luke. His boss had neglected to tell him that he had today off, and he was getting paid for it, too. So, I ran out the door again to go get him.

We�re planning on heading to the zoo in a little bit. I�m anxious for some outside time and it�s been a while since we did something recreational by ourselves. I�m looking forward to taking iZone pictures of my purse and a pig. If I come out successful, I�ll scan them and post them here.

Sunday we went to M&G�s to do laundry. When we got there, they had yet to return from being up North at the party, so we were lucky that I have a key to the house, otherwise, we�d have been stuck outside for more than an hour. They don�t ordinarily lock the door to the breezeway, but something this time around prompted them to do so. We also went to the drive-in and saw Bruce Almighty. It was a double feature, but no one had any interest in seeing Daddy Day Care, so we left after the first show. M&G sat in lawn chairs outside the car and Luke and I cozied up inside, away from Nigel�s incessant barking, the cold, and the mosquitoes. There were some very funny bits to the film, but my favorite part was the retro ads they had for the snack bar and stuff. They had the really cheesy modern snippets too, mentioning SUVs and minivans, but I ignored those.

Upon returning home, we expected a very angry cat, but we couldn�t find him at first. Luke had accidentally shut him in the bedroom when he ran in to change his shirt. Not only was Ghostcat pissed and hungry, he was also desperate for attention. I fed him as soon as I found him, but he wasn�t interested in doing anything other than not letting me out of his sight.

Monday was spent chez Andy, playing on his X-Box and just generally hanging about. He was making a pie when we called him some time before noon, so we had warm pie for breakfast. I think pie for breakfast was a new thing for me. I used to eat leftover Mexican, pasta, and pizza for brekkie when I was a kid, but I somehow lost my taste both for eating in the morning and for cold leftovers. Andy rented the Buffy game and I watched Luke play it. It was pretty good, considering that SMG wouldn�t do her voice for the game, and they had too few voiceovers for the vampire characters. I think I would get it were I to own an X-Box. Luke has heard good things about Fist Full of Boomstick, other than that it�s really cheap by the creators demand.

It was late again when we got home and our dinner at Old Chicago turned out to not be so good in hindsight, since we either ate too fast or something wasn�t right. We both got mildly sick and were exhausted. We went to bed, but I wasn�t in the greatest of moods. Last week really took a lot out of me and because we were on the go all weekend, I really didn�t get the me-specific attention I needed to help me get over that. I explained that I felt really badly about that stupid interview with the squirrelly guy and that my Planned Parenthood appointment had really made things a lot worse. He said that he would protect me from anything he could, which I need to both know and hear since he�s generally very laid back about what I do. I cried a lot and just spent an hour or more being hugged and huddling into him.

I slept a little fitfully, despite having been soothed. I had a lot of dreams, it was warmer than usual, and I woke in fits and starts only to have a difficult time getting back to sleep again. We both woke at around five having tossed off the covers and hugged one another. We then went back to sleep.

For now, I have to go. The zoo (and the outdoors) calls me.

diarist.net