Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 2:11 pm on 05.07.03

To say that I am even further annoyed by the medical industry than I was a day ago would be an understatement. I called two nurse lines last night about my genital issue, because though better, it�s still not done with. The first one I called was related to our insurance company. I had to tell a man with a heavy Spanish accent, in detail, about what�s up with me. He said to be seen within 72 hours, which they are obligated to say unless you are dying, in which case they tell you to get yourself somewhere within the next breath. Then I called the relatively local nurse line, and the woman there said all the things I already know and to get seen within 72 hours. Finally, I called a local hospital, which is supposed to take our insurance, or at least certain doctors within said system. The charge nurse there was very helpful and said to call one of their local clinics this morning and see if they could fit me in. Of course, my doing that and securing an appointment would mean paying, so I decided that I will just wait it out until Friday, when Planned Parenthood has walk-in hours and get both my annual and this checked out all in one fell swoop.

Had the new NP at PP simply written me a script for Diflucan in the first place, I wouldn�t be in this situation. I wouldn�t be horny and pissed off and I also wouldn�t be uncomfortable and itchy. By now I would have even taken my second dose and been free of symptoms. I asked Luke to accompany me on Friday so that he may possibly be able to keep my mouth, which is bound to spout bile of its own accord, in check. Having him there should keep me from flying off the handle, as he tends to have a calming influence on me when I am flustered. I think he also helps with my �white coat syndrome�; you know, where your blood pressure shoots up and you break into a cold sweat in the presence of a medical professional. I have that in a bad way and while there�s nothing I can really do about it, he is at least there to talk to me while the NP is out of the room, making me wait simply for the sake of torture. Last year he came, and though I still got a high-normal BP reading, I think he made my time easier. He sat in on the exam and the rocking former NP asked him if he wanted to see my cervix. He declined, but for her to offer was really cool. I�m going to miss her presence so much. I�m pretty sure that they also changed the reception staff, as they had these two sorority looking snobbish girls behind the desk there last week.

Luke was such a sweetheart last night. I was at my wit�s end and he eventually figured out that he should just hold me, so I spent a lot of time nestled in his arms. I cried a little bit, but dried up fairly quickly and eventually ended up laughing with him before falling asleep while he read. I woke up some time around 3 to find that it was storming outside. One particularly big crack of thunder even woke us for a minute or two shortly before it became light. It woke him up, he cuddled up to me and he said something about it. I asked if he could get back to sleep and he said he could, so we rolled back over and drifted off again. Later when I woke to pee and feed the cat, I realized that in having the bedroom door shut it had gotten very stuffy in there, but since I didn�t want the cat bothering us, I kept it closed and hoped that we�d be able to deal with it, as I noticed that Luke had thrown aside his blankets. When I came back home from bringing him to work, I stuck the little fan in the window and that cooled it down considerably.

I�ve been having a harder time getting up in the morning over the last couple of weeks. I used to be able to stay semi-awake between Luke getting up and my having to 10 minutes later, but lately I�ve found that I�m falling back to sleep and not waking up until Luke comes in. It�s not that I�m getting to bed later or sleeping unsoundly, I think it�s just that I get back into that comfort zone. I have no problem waking up after that, it�s just the initial waking that�s hard on me. It could also be due to the fact that I hate Luke�s alarm clock noise. With mine, you can set it to make one of three noises and it is a gradual increase in volume, so it eases you awake. Luke�s is much older than mine is and provides the option of radio, which doesn�t get him up, or that horrible, jarring, get-up-now-or-I-will�become-animate-and-proceed-to-remove-one-limb-for-every-second-you- don�t-get�the-hell-up sound that is so common. It always scares the hell out of me, sometimes to the point of me actually jolting awake, complete with full body flailing.

diarist.net