Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:05 pm on 05.03.03

Still grumpy and feeling relatively unloved. Luke keeps asking me how I feel, even though I�ve explained to him that I would prefer he not ask me that. Talking about it makes me think about it. Thinking about it makes me remember how uncomfortable I am. Remembering how uncomfortable I am makes me pissier than I already am. I thought my explanation was sufficient, but apparently not as he keeps telling me that he has a right to know.

I am improving, at least in terms of the infection, but I am by no means completely better. I hurt less in the shower last night, so that�s a definite sign of healing. I�m not saying I was devoid of pain by any means, but it has diminished.

We woke up twice this morning, once at 10 and again at 11 for me and 11:30 or so for Luke. When we woke at 10, Luke decided to tell me that there is a book in the children�s section at B&N, chosen as a staff pick by one of his co-workers. The book is the tale of a mole who pops out of the ground to find that his head has been pooped on. He goes around the farmyard asking various animals if they were the culprit. When they tell him no, they also say something to the tune of �My poop looks like this� before unceremoniously letting fly. Eventually, the mole finds out who did it: the dog. He approaches the dog, who happens to be sleeping, and then poops on his head. Somehow I don�t think that this is the type of thing that kids should be learning. I was under the impression that children are supposed to be taught to poop in toilets, not on other people/animals. Though the concept is funny, I can�t say that I would want my kids reading it. When I woke again at 11, I didn�t quite know if Luke had actually told me the story or if I had merely dreamt it. I didn�t find out until later when we were watching television and he said, �My poop looks like this.�

I have almost nothing to do today. I�m growing tired of being on the internet all the time and there is never anything decent on television. I never have any reading material about, seeing as we haven�t the money to buy books and Luke can never find a manager to borrow the hardcovers for me from work. He brought me home a CMJ earlier in the week, but I�m done with that already, the article about the White Stripes having been the only thing to interest me. I also don�t have any idea as to what I should have for dinner. I had lasagna that I had frozen last night, and good as it is, I don�t want to burn out on it. I�d really love a sub from Glass Nickel, but alas, we�re poor and can�t even afford the tiniest deviation.

I fear I am getting sick of spending so much time alone with only the cat to keep me company. I didn�t mind it until just recently, when the boredom and loneliness really seemed to set in. I can�t spend the hour I used to spend working out with my back the way it is, and trying to fill 8 � hours is hard, especially when there doesn�t seem to be anything that I particularly even want to do. It�s not like I can see a movie, due to the aforementioned financial issue or ring up a girlfriend and go hang out, as I have none here. Back in 2001, for the short time that Luke was working and I wasn�t, I used to read a ton and sleep a lot, but that was because we had neither television nor computer. We also didn�t have sufficient kitchen accessories to comprise a working kitchen. It strikes me as odd that I was able to amuse myself then with so little, and am so very bored now having everything at my fingertips. It�s gotten to the point where I don�t even look forward to bringing Luke�s dinners to him, as he often jibes me about being late (though I never am) and we always sit there in the parking lot, spans of silence between us. At his old job, I�d bring him his lunch and we�d go park by the lake nearby, usually getting up to something. Now, in such a public place, it�s impossible, especially since there�s more than a slight chance of being spied by small children, which I can�t do in good conscience.

diarist.net