Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 11:38 am on 04.23.03

The pain in my back is subsiding further, despite my fears yesterday that I may have to go to the doctor. Wandering around the grocery store, my back kept panging in a way that I found to be rather menacing. I had taken an Advil some time before and it was doing squat. Luke was worried about me and kept rubbing my back. That was the first time that I have ever wished for Vicodin. Granted, I�ve only been prescribed Vicodin once, but it worked and it put me right to sleep as an added bonus. I took one of the leftovers when I cut my finger a year and a half ago, but it didn�t do half what I wanted it to. It made me stop hurting to some extent, but it didn�t knock me out and I even had to take a whole one, when before half was sufficient.

I told Luke that I wanted to cancel my health insurance and he was adamant about me keeping it, but I think he understands now that I have explained my very well thought out reasons to him. He thinks that now that I am insured, I should keep it, but in the time I didn�t have any I was sick once and not eve sick enough to go to the doctor. In the time I had insurance, more than a year ago, I took advantage of it once and even then they couldn�t do anything about my being sick since it was viral. I think he just worries about him having and me not. I�m not concerned about getting sick, I�m concerned about being able to pay the rent from month to month without having to ask for help from M.

We�ve done so well in this apartment in terms of being able to pay rent. We had to borrow money in January, but other than that, it�s been all us making it on our own. Our last place was so expensive and we were in such dire straits sometimes that we had nothing to our names and were stuck asking M to take us grocery shopping. It was such an awful feeling, knowing that we couldn�t even feed ourselves. For some reason, knowing that we can�t make rent is so much easier than not being able to buy food.

We went to bed so early last night that we had to tape Conan in order to be able to see The White Stripes. Despite my having gone back to sleep when I got home from taking him to work, I was just groggy and sleepy all day, not to mention in pain during our grocery shopping, and he hadn�t slept well the previous night because of the cat sleeping on his head, so we went to sleep when Dave was over. He seemed relatively set on staying up, saying that he was going to read, but he was asleep even before I was.

I don�t know that I could love waking up next to him any more. Yesterday when he woke up he was just so tempting, but seeing as he gives himself a mere fifteen minutes between waking and leaving, there was not time to act on my desires. Luckily, I got what was coming to me last night. I love the softness of him next to me, not to mention the warmth. Just to know that if I wake up form a nightmare, I can turn over to him and he will hold me. I remember early in the relationship when we had first started living together, it took me forever to fall asleep; someone next to me in bed was so foreign. Now, I can�t sleep without him there. Sure, there are nights when I lie awake for a while, but that�s not attributable to his presence. If anything having him there makes it easier to fall asleep.

Before I started writing today�s entry, I had something that I wanted to write about, but now I can�t think what it was for the life of me. I suppose that I simply did too much and let the thought slip away when I wasn�t paying attention.

diarist.net