Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 12:25 pm on 03.27.03

Luke�s mom is supposed to arrive here at some point today to drop off souvenir New Orleans tee shirts and pick up film fest tickets. She has two for us, if we want them as well, but everything is already sold out and I�m not so sure that I want to stand in line when there is a decent chance that I won�t get in. I know that the tee shirts won�t be the crappy �My mother in law went to New Orleans and all I got was this shitty tee shirt� situation. She has far better taste than to indulge in the �bercheese that is your typical tourist fare. Although, she does tend to go in on certain things for the kitsch value, but I have faith that our tee shirts won�t suck. It�s really quite astounding how much stuff I have from New Orleans and yet have never been.

We grocery shopped last night, and even though we had just eaten, we shopped as if ravenous. This was not aided at all by the fact that Luke was dead set on spoiling me. He kept tossing things into the cart and encouraging me to get whatever I pleased, though I practiced restraint. Had I not continually tried to convince him that it wouldn�t get eaten/take things out of the cart, I would be ear deep in Doritos, Mint Milanos, waffles, and assorted other things. I did get waffles and some juice, but I weaseled my way out of chips and cookies, saying that I still have snack food from a long time ago that I have yet to eat and it would just be a waste of money.

I suffered some very intense back pain last night as well. It got so bad that it hurt to walk and I had to grab an Excedrin out of my purse while we were shopping. Unfortunately, it didn�t kick in until we had finished and I had to fold myself into the car, wincing because it hurt to even extend my legs in order to depress the brake and the clutch. I�m feeling better today, though when my back hurts, it tends to arrive at night, so I have no real way of telling what lies ahead of me. It may be another early shower night, but depending on the ER situation, I don�t know if that will be feasible.

I have resolved to not speak to Liz much anymore, particularly if she�s the one to initiate conversation. All she ever wants to do is brag or bitch and I have no interest in listening to that rubbish. I told Luke to have me make an excuse not to talk if he happens to be around and she speaks to me in the future. I don�t really care to talk to a girl who seems to have abandoned everything she once stood for. She has a boyfriend for Bob�s sake! I get too worked up about trivial crap like this, thus the resolution to remain incommunicado.

Luke and I had a long talk last night in bed. We ended up staying up far later than we should have, seeing as he�s been sleep deprived all week long, but I think we hashed out some things that needed hashing, so I feel better for it as I�m sure he does. Sometimes the lines of communication get garbled and that leads to wretchedness that neither of us can say we really need. I managed not to cry, though he did a little, and I didn�t yell. I maintained my calm and am relatively proud of myself for having done so. I tend to allow myself to get too upset and my emotions cloud my thinking and judgment. It�s more than a little safe to say that such a situation really sucks and I have to make a very concerted effort not to allow myself to fall into my own trap.

Not knowing when M is going to show is kind of tough on getting a workout in. She said she was leaving work at noon and would either be here before or after I get Luke from work, but that�s a huge window and I would prefer not to be seen in my workout clothing, all sweaty and gross. I may have to scrap it for today, despite my really not wanting to at all.

diarist.net