Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||||

@ 4:10 pm on 03.22.03

Andy called last night, but it wasn�t to ask me to go out with him. Instead, it was essentially to brag. Andy doesn�t have to pay for anything. His parents bought him a house when he started school in Whitewater, and even though he�s supposed to have roommates, most of the time he doesn�t. Now that he�s going to school here in Madison and still living in Whitewater, his parents have decided that they�re probably going to be selling the house in Whitewater and buying him a condo here. This is a guy whose parents still do his laundry, buy his groceries, pay for his gas, bought his car, and outfit him with whatever he happens to request. Ridiculously enough, when he was facing possible felony charges for stealing thousands of dollars worth of merchandise from his old job, they bought him a new Palm Pilot.

It�s good for him that he has such doting parents, but he really needn�t rub it in our faces that he gets anything he desires. We make twelve thousand dollars a year right now, and that�s combined. He knows this and still boasts about being so very fortunate. When I first started making it on my own, I though I was spoiled, and I was to a certain degree, but not nearly so much as he is. My car repairs were paid for, as were my gas and living expenses, but this is because I was living with my parents. They never bought me my own house and I was responsible for a fair amount of housework and making sure both tuition and car insurance were paid. There comes a point where the meaning of spoiled becomes literal with people. He�s almost twenty-two years old and isn�t responsible for anything financially. He charges things to credit cards and has his parents pay for them and he goes out to eat several times weekly. He has no idea what it is actually like to have to support himself and chances are, he never will. He is intelligent, but lacks so much in common sense, largely due to a lack of life experience. It drives me nuts.

Luke�s father also called last night. Luckily with that new-fangled Caller ID I can see who happens to be interrupting my life and choose not to answer it. He is someone whom I would prefer not interrupt my life. Ever. He left a message saying that he wanted to know what was up with Luke and how he was doing. He ended with this signature, pathetic �I love you, buddy.� I told Luke about his having called and he said he�d probably call him back. We talked about why he would do such a thing when every encounter with the man is an exercise in tolerance to the extreme. He said that he doesn�t hate the guy and thus cannot warrant cutting him out of his life. He had assumed that when I did the same with my mother that I hated her, but I had to explain to him that that was far from how I actually felt. He didn�t know that I spent weeks afterward crying, wanting to go back, but knowing that it wasn�t healthy for me in the least. It�s odd that even after all this time together, and knowing me as well as he does, he doesn�t know about one of the most influential experiences in my life. I guess we�ve just never talked about it, never had a reason to. We�ve shared ugly formative experiences, but he�s never heard the entire tale, what lead up to, or even the details of that day when I left with the aid of the police, whom I had called before she had the chance to pull the cord from the wall and lock me out of the house.

Harold and Maude came today. I�m going to wait to watch it until tomorrow, as Luke won�t be working and can view it with me. Yes, I do own it now, but if I watch it tonight, I�ll simply end up watching it again tomorrow. Our Domestic Partnership forms also came today. Reading all that legal jargon makes my head spin a little and it makes it seem so much more threatening than it actually is. I read it aloud to Luke and asked him if that seemed okay by him. I don�t want him to jump into anything before he�s ready and legally binding documents are kind of a big thing. Sure, nothing will change, but he got a little wigged out when I moved my furniture into our old apartment, so this is nearly guaranteed to freak him out mildly. We have to go and get it notarized and I don�t know where to find someone to do so. I suppose we�ll just have to ring up the city county building on Monday in order to hash it all out.

Luke�s parents went to New Orleans for the weekend, leaving the younger brother home alone to do what he pleases. I�d be more than willing to assume that he�s having parties every single night they�re gone. I�m all for giving responsibility to teenagers who actually exhibit responsibility, but C is not one of them. This is a kid who broke into a friend�s parents� house, stole a shotgun, and traded it for a case of vodka. M&G don�t know about this, of course, but isn�t it the job of parents to know what their kids are up to? I understand that she doesn�t want to pry, but if she�s putting condoms in his Christmas stocking, then she should know of the other things he does.

We lay in bed until almost one o�clock this afternoon. We woke sometime around eleven-thirty, but couldn�t drag ourselves out so we cuddled and talked and wrestled until we realized it was pathetic for us to be in bed so late and not having sex. Wrestling is fun, though.

diarist.net