Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

Listening to Dar WIlliams' Spring Street||Thinking of world domination and puppies||# of days to 23: 59

@ 12:19 pm on 10.09.03

Luke called to wish the grandparents a happy birthday and to clear that we can go up this weekend. They were happy to hear from him and we�re going to be heading up on Sunday. I�m really excited about this because it�s been two months since we were last there and now that I have discovered that bringing our comforter from home up helps me to sleep better, I am all over the overnights at Grandma�s. Plus, what with having a tiny new puppy (her name is Coco�ugghhh), I am even more motivated to get my butt up there. It doesn�t hurt that things between Luke and I have been sorted out, so this means that we can have a little romance time without feeling that very noticeable rift that�s been hanging about for the past couple of weeks.

We had a nice long talk last night, completely free of over emotional confusion. We talked calmly and lovingly and I think everything got out into the open. It was really nice to feel like I�ve been heard and that something will be done to alleviate my feelings of ordinariness.

Luke finally cleaned up what I liked to call Fire Hazard Alley, otherwise known as the space between the bookcase and his dresser. He was actually marveling at all the things he had forgotten he owned. T-shirts and shorts, pants and stuffed animals, all of them came spewing forth as he went on a naked cleaning frenzy. I haven�t a clue as to what motivated him to take care of such a thing, but I have been at him about it for months and it�s a great relief to have it taken care of. He also went so far as to put something else nit hat space that will hold our book overflow, thus preventing Fire Hazard Alley from becoming a problem in the future � or so I hope.

Now that Spike will be a regular, I think that Angel will be easier to ease into. I watched again last night and so did Luke, surprisingly. He didn�t watch Ed, but he sat through all of Angel, the program I thought he was least likely to want to sit down and view. All I have to say, though, is that necromancers, whether real or imagined, creep the crap out of me.

Even though nobody chimed in on the List vs. Tickets issue (ahem, thanks), I started compiling a list of stuff that I might want if I do in fact go with list as my holiday option this year. I looked at a ton of stuff from Philosophy because I have a long standing adoration for their confection smelling products. I also looked for CDs and DVDs that I would like. I wanted to see if I could find Demeter fragrances online and I did, but the layout wasn�t exactly what I wanted and it�s hard to pick out perfumes when they haven�t developed Internet Smellovision� yet. I know that Luke is desperate for both the Funeral Home and Gin and Tonic sprays, even though I�ve never once known him to spritz on anything. I always figured that with such sensitive skin as he has, perfumes and colognes would be a no-no, but I guess that it�s just that he hasn�t found one he likes enough to wear.

Today is a wonderful day in the city of Madison, as Dotty Dumpling�s Dowry is reopening in a new location. Some asshat decided a few years ago that gentrification was a necessity downtown on State Street and said gentrification meant driving up the property values, filling up the stores with such corporate entities as The Gap, and creating an �arts district� that even the artists of the region don�t want. The city declared that any and all businesses in the way of the �arts district� had to find a new place to call home because they were knocking their current domiciles into oblivion and building a garish glass coated monstrosity in their place. The owner of Dotty�s made it a point to stay open until the very moment he had to be out, fighting tooth and nail with the City to get a fair compensation package. People even demonstrated outside the fine purveyor of burgers and fries until the wrecking ball came. The owner lost, just as everybody expected, but he said that no matter what happened, he would be back some time in the future and two years later, today is that time. I don�t know if he kept all of the really cool stuff he had in the old place, but I imagine he did, so that means that hopefully the table in which Luke carved our names when we were still a very new couple will be there. We�re hoping to be able to rope Andy into going with us since he�ll miss our Monday hangout time due to our being out of town. Luke has said that it is my responsibility to call him and ask, but I can get him to do it because we have to ask him to feed the cat while we�re gone anyway and in order to do that, he�ll need a key.

Aye, but I�m a crafty conniving wee wench. Nobody knows this (okay everybody does) because I am far too adorable to resist. I am, in a sense, a bear cub.

diarist.net