Once Upon A Girl

Tough Titties

Missives

Memoranda

Take AIM

Love Letters

Tomorrow

Yesterday

Been There, Done That

Grateful

� 2003-05 Design and Content by Disco

||Reading The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde||and The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

@ 7:19 pm on 06.01.04

I didn't go to work today. Luke sort of did, but he only stayed for twenty minutes. He wasn't feeling well for most of yesterday and then felt fine enough to have some vigorous sex, but then he broke again and went to sleep thinking that he'd not work today. We did set our alarms just in case he decided he felt okay enough to go in, which he seemed to when we woke.

We drove all but 5 minutes of the trip and he said it was coming back, that he didn't feel well anymore, but he didn't want to call in. I was sitting there in pajama bottoms and a holey t-shirt (no underwear to speak of, no bra) wondering what the hell I was supposed to do. He said he'd just go in and set up and be out as soon as possible. I settled in to read, as B&N was not yet open and I couldn't reasonably waltz in any old place looking like a homeless person, and twenty minutes later he was back and we were driving home. I called in to work, saying I had a bout of gastrointestinal havoc due to a round of bad Chinese food, and went back to sleep for almost 2 hours while he played on the computer and ate some cereal.

When I awoke, we lazed about and watched TV until I decided we should go out and buy dinner ingredients...I also just needed an excuse to go to Target and get a purple shirt. We hit the two major grocery stores in Dullsville (one for run of the mill stuff, the other for salad and soup bar. I also found 2 lb. things of strawberries at 2/$7 and I bought one thinking that 4 lbs. of strawberries would be way too much for one me to eat before they went bad.) and I got my purple shirt.

We came home, I cooked, we ate, and now here I sit, stuffed with good dinner and strawberries.

I have to work at 3 tomorrow and I won't get to see Luke until well after he's done with work at 4:30 because he's apparently going to dinner with his father whom he doesn't necessarily want to spend time with but feels obligated to. I have Thursday through Saturday off, too, so it's a thin work week, even had I gone in today.

I'm thinking of taking my skills elsewhere because the hours I'm getting just plain suck and I'm not making sufficient fundage. Yes, I spend money on myself, but that's because I wasn't able to for three-ish years and I believe I'm entitled to some new spring clothes and underwear. If I didn't take the $40 every two weeks to spend on myself, I'd be working without reward and that would blow something fierce. I save as much as I can, including my tip money (which is now destined for my plane ticket in August).

diarist.net